My hips don't lie...


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Coast Province
September 2nd 2007
Published: September 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Kilifi Creek in the eveningKilifi Creek in the eveningKilifi Creek in the evening

Whilst walking along the creek at low-tide
Yassup? (that’s my new abbreviated form of “yo, wassup?” I feel like it’s going to save me a lot of time)

Thought I better check in before we go on holiday for the next few weeks. We’re leaving Kilifi on Friday morning (Justin is arriving in Kilifi on Tuesday and someone over here might be a tinsy bit excited about it…) to head off to do something ridiculous like climb a very large mountain. So the plan of attack is Kilimanjaro in week one, safari in Tanzania (in Serengeti and Ngorongoro and surrounding areas) in week two and then on to Uganda for kayaking in week three, which should be a ripper of a holiday. And there shall be plenty of photos and news in a month or so.

Not too much news at the moment. Just been hanging out with the kids as usual. I have included the obligatory photos of them. They’ve been on holidays for the last month, so we’ve been doing lots of painting, games and dancing to unbelievably bad Kenyan music. They’ve also discovered a new favourite thing to do, which is to come over to our house to visit me everyday. So we have visitors at all hours of the day, even when I haven’t got out of bed yet.

Anyway, here’s a few more random facts, and that’s it from me:

- Over the last few weeks we’ve noticed a rather odd character hanging around Kilifi. I think he might be a sandwich short of a picnic, but he’s good entertainment anyway, due to the fact that he is dressed entirely in thick layers of plastic bags - including a hood - and looks like a Yeti. I imagine he must be a tad hot, but it doesn’t seem to bother him. Will try to get a photo of him, but I’m a bit worried me might attack me if I do.
- One of my boys declared his love for me the other day. He gave me a letter which contained love song dedications (including Shakira - Hips Don’t Lie??) and finished off with ‘Baby, I wish to marry you after I finish my studies.’ Pity he’s only eleven - the Shakira dedication nearly won me over.
- Have had some amusing nights out recently. I’ve included some pictures of one of the nights, in which we dressed each other up in some beautiful outfits from the local stores - fluoro and slogan t-shirts (such as “Gary the happy pirate” and “titties and beer,” which said “c’mon sing you bastards” on the back of it) seemed to be the order of the day. Unfortunately, our outfits didn’t even raise an eyebrow at the local nightclub, Mkwajuni, it was simply the fact that we were white that made anyone interested in us. And perhaps the table-top dancing.
- Fortunately I wasn’t aware until the next day that there is actually a cell in this nightclub which acts as a jail for anyone misbehaving - they’re locked up and only let out in the morning. If I’d have known this I might have behaved myself a little more…
- These antics can probably be blamed on the fact that I am currently undertaking a self-imposed beer ban (very very silly decision) in the lead-up to Kilimanjaro. Therefore I’ve had to resort to drinking nasty, nasty spirits, such as Kenya Cane, which costs a whole 65 shillings (just over a dollar) for a bottle.

Ok, hope you’re all well. Peace out rafiki.

Love,
B

P.S. Happy Father’s Day, Stevie Wonder!
P.P.S. If anyone has seen our house keys can they please return them to us…or perhaps offer us suggestions as to where we may have put them - I know they’re definitely in a safe place!



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

More things should be made from tartanMore things should be made from tartan
More things should be made from tartan

Wearing the Scottish national dress...appropriate, given that's where she comes from.
Titties and BeerTitties and Beer
Titties and Beer

And a very nice skirt too
Fluoro centralFluoro central
Fluoro central

Mario or Luigi, Renee?
Questionable t-shirtQuestionable t-shirt
Questionable t-shirt

But K seems to be loving herself sic in it!
Not hungryNot hungry
Not hungry

Looks like me and my eight chins are interested in this food...
My pants are not a boda boda cushionMy pants are not a boda boda cushion
My pants are not a boda boda cushion

The beautiful handiwork of the local tailors...unfortunately we took our pants to the tailors who repair bike seats and such...don't think they'll break any time soon though


3rd September 2007

weenie- your hair is looking very long, have you lost your nail scissors??
7th September 2007

got the nail scissors...but lacking a balcony - wouldn't be the same

Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0651s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb