Would've given anything to be wearing a buibui yesterday


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Coast Province » Lamu
March 1st 2006
Published: March 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

First I'll explain what a buibui is.... you know the black covers that muslim women wear... that's a buibui. The thing covering the face is a ninja, some wear em and some don't. Now that that's clarified, here's why I wanted to be wearing one yesterday....

I walked to my tutor's house yesterday afternoon. When I got there her house boy informed me that she was at her mom's house on the other side of town. He asked if he should walk me and I said no... I knew the way. As I was walking I ran into a guy I knew and talked to him briefly. Right after that a shop owner (looked like he also might've been a beach boy) came up to me and asked how I was doing and shook my hand. Encounters like that are you usually just a quick "hi, how're you? I'm fine. You're a student? Yep. Have a nice day, etc.". But this one shook my hand and then started pulling me to his store and I told him that I really had to get going I had to meet my tutor. He really wanted me to check out his store, but I was insistent that I didn't have time. So, he said ok, we'll take a walk. And, still holding my hand; he walked right up next to me (the street we were on got really narrow) and said that we should go for a nice cup of coffee in a private area where we could relax. While telling him no I couldn't I was also trying to free my hand. Finally got my hand back.... never been so happy about releasing my hand from somebody's in my entire life. He then wanted to know where I was staying so he could drop by later this week and we could go get our cup of coffee in a "private place". Ugh! Of course I just told him I didn't remember where I was staying and took off. Ugh, it was just an awful feeling and all I wanted to do was get to my tutor's mom's house as quickly as I could. On the way it seemed like every guy possible was coming up to me. I didn't want to talk to any of em. Usually I can walk around here and just get the occassional "hi mwanafunzi. habari? (Hi, student. How're you?)" For some reason yesterday afternoon was different.

I was really happy when I finally made it to Bushra's mom's house (a little over a 15 min. walk). Meeting with her is always nice, so I was in a better mood leaving her house. But, of course a stupid beach boy had to go ruin it. I had just left Bushra's mom's house when a beach boy passed me and started talking to me. Saying that we should meet up sometime to smoke it up together. YEAH RIGHT!!! And he asked if I knew where I was going. And said that he'll see me around the city (which he probably will 'cause it's not that big). All I want is for them to leave me alone. Anyway.... just kinda put me in a crummy mood all around. I was feeling so comfortable walking around the city here and then those stupid guys had to go mess it up. If I had been a woman wearing a buibui none of those guys would've bothered me. It gives the women some autonomy while walking around the streets.... It's counterintuitive to what we think of the buibui, but it really is liberating in a way. Just a very different perspective of something we usually think of in connection with the oppression of women.

Now I'm killing some time before I head over to Bushra's house to start cooking. I'm making enchilada's for her and her family tonight. Making the tortillas this afternoon before class. I'm not really looking forward to walking there as I have to pass the guy that wouldn't give me my hand back yesterday. Hopefully he'll leave me alone today. I guess not everything about the trip can be hunky dorry. This was just one of those occassions. But I'm not letting it ruin my opinion of Lamu, still love it here. =)

Gotta get going now... miss all of you very much. Kwaherini

Advertisement



1st March 2006

anonyous dressing & safety
Rachel, I've never met you other than here, but I got that same lump in my throat as if you were a child of mine. (silly... i know) Even though it's easy to worry about safety, don't let it color your stay (too much, at least). I can definitely understand the quick flash of desire for a bubui (was that it?) Sometimes men don't understand the vulnerability of simply being female. It sounds like you handled it very well. I wisn you continued safety and the presence of mind to listen to your intuition and stay safe.
3rd March 2006

Hi there
Hi Rachel. I finally got your blog address just in time to learn about your encounter with "beach boys" MMM that name makes me think of over the hill CA singers! Wish I could join you and help fend them off. Not that I would be much help. Anyway I have your site now and will try and keep in touch. Shalom
15th March 2006

WOAH
Wow Rachel, That souns crazy. Im so glad you are having fun, those boys sound really pushy, they just wanna hang out with a sweet girl like you!!! (Can you really blame them?!) Im glad you stand your ground, it sounds like you handle every stituation that comes to you with poise. Miss you!!
28th November 2007

cover
Hi rachel, Am sorry for the awful experience. It just that when the locals see a mzungu(white) they think that you may need their company coz most mzungus do that. about the buibui, it is a muslim attire, the colour and its size is made to cover the beauty of the woman and the locals know and understand that any woman putting on one is trying to get respect so thats why they keep away from the muslim woman and give them their respect.it covers any body curves,bossom,hips,ass oops did i say that? hair e.t.c. so actually the man has nothing to look at hehehehe. since you are leraning the culture you could encompass even the religion, just try putting on a bui bui and walk with muslim ladies and you will notice how the men will really appreciate that. you will get to move around in peace and study in peace. the whole clothing is called HIJAB and arab word meaning a cover. something that can protect you from harm.Fatma

Tot: 0.249s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 63; dbt: 0.1785s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb