Trials and tribulations


Advertisement
Published: June 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

View and cowboy hatView and cowboy hatView and cowboy hat

Ariel wanted a shot of me wearing my cowboy hat, but while this allergic reaction is running its course, I shall have no close-ups so shadow shots are what you get!

Travel maladies


Woke up this morning with Angelina Jolie size lips. It appears I might be allergic to something here…Now my lips are all swollen and there’s itchy redness over a good portion of my lower face. One of the researchers suggested that it might be an allergic reaction to mango which is in the poison ivy family. Never had an issue before but there’s a first time for everything, right? Sadly, fresh mangoes and passionfruit were two of the things I looked forward to for this trip. I really, really hope that passionfruit also does not cause a reaction. I just might have to go home if that’s the case. For the weekend, I’m abstaining from all fruits, keeping out of the sun and constantly flipping open my little compact mirror to assess the damage. My lips went back to a normal size in the late morning but nothing else has really changed all day. We’ll see what the next morning brings…
On the upside, my cold is getting better. I can now breathe through my nose for multiple consecutive hours. Celebration!

Animal updates


Janet’s menagerie has just increased by two. Turns out a pregnant squirrel
pinkiespinkiespinkies

The two day-old baby ground squirrels
was caught in a Princeton researcher’s mouse traps. The squirrel, distressed and very pregnant, gave birth in the cage and when the researchers found her this morning, they immediately opened the trap. Mama took off and didn’t come back. Two the wee ones were given to Janet since she now has a reputation for adopting animal babies. They’re quite the opposite of adorable, all rubbery pink and black, their eyes dark bulges underneath a thin layer of skin, and constantly mewling and slowly thrashing about. Janet is keeping them warm by tucking them into her bra but has little hope they’ll survive (they are sucking from the syringe though.) We’ll see how long they last!

At least one hyena was hunting around and near my house last night. They have a whooping call that lifts up at the end, more musical than most large mammal calls I know. I have heard that hyenas and jaguars are regularly seen around my house and the neighboring houses. Going out at night by yourself, or even with one other person, is simply not an option here. It’s funny being genuinely scared of being outside when night falls (not a paralyzing fear but just a avoid-it-at-all-costs type of fear.) Kenya has many things which go bump in the night.

Animal sightings


cardinal woodpecker
White-bellied go-away bird (another Kenyan bird with a mohawk)
Grevy’s zebra
Impala



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Mpala villageMpala village
Mpala village

Where the field assistants, lower level staff, and their families all live
Renee and JanetRenee and Janet
Renee and Janet

Grad students from University of Vermont and University of British Colombia
SceneryScenery
Scenery

Walking from the Mpala village down to Mpala Centre (where the offices/labs/researchers' bandas are)


Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb