The Journey-Ch.9* An Ocean of Emotion


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Central Province » Kinangop
August 25th 2007
Published: April 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Two weeks I took a swim in the deep and rough ocean of emotions. And after the swim I sat back on the shore, tired, yet amazed. Amazed that God placed within us such strong emotions and feelings. Strong enough that at times they make us feel as if we could soar above the skies and other times we feel like they will crush us, yet we are not overcome.

Thursday I experienced a whole gamut…

Anxiety and Courage

Anxiety and courage had a war within me. I had to go downtown to a part of the city that I had not driven before. For the 40 minutes as I sat in traffic under the Kenyan sun I debated about running the specific errand. Anxiety made my hands sweat and helped me think of ten different reasons why I could put the errand off until I could find someone else to drive. Courage, not one to be pushed around, helped me remember that if I can be courageous enough to live in a different country, I could surely be courageous enough to drive downtown!

Traffic conditions in the city center have been adversaries I’ve been afraid to face. With weapons of deep potholes, bicycles, motorbikes with drivers that make their own rules, matatus (white vans with a yellow stripe that act as public transportation) swerving in and out, matatu drivers that also make their own regulations, black diesel smoke rolling out of the exhaust filling the air with clouds of black, semi-trucks, and sales people from whom you can purchase anything from sunglasses, seeds, cowboy hats or foam and newspaper stuffed floral pillows…It makes for a challenge that is not for the faint of heart. It is like and advanced game of Frogger where one step on the gas too soon can cause a small disaster. I prayed, as I always do when I get behind the wheel, and pushed my way in…courage pushing me on through each roadblock. Then, I rejoiced as I made it to my destination. With a city of 4 million people that was built for a couple thousand years ago, traffic is not getting any better.

Next came Fear…

I parked and went into a restaurant to have a quiet lunch while waiting for the offices to open. They close from 12-2 p.m. daily for their lunch breaks. I got my food and suddenly heard a crash. I thought someone had dropped their dishes but looked to see there was actually a man who had dropped to the floor and was having a major seizure, right in the middle of the restaurant. In true Kenyan fashion everyone was calm. I am not Kenyan. Fear gripped me, its hot claws sinking in, draining my strength and leaving me shaking like a leaf in the autumn wind. I kept asking, “Has anyone called an ambulance? Can someone call a Dr.???!!!”. A man kept saying to me, “It will be fine”. I wanted to shake him and ask him, “How do you know”? Later I realized that calling an ambulance would be about as effective as calling someone from America to come help because it would take about the same amount of time to arrive. So, people stood around, wide eyed, and watched the man convulse and sweat. Someone was thinking and wanted to find something to put in his mouth. I thought that was a good idea but what do you put in someone’s mouth and how do you get it there when they are shaking violently? Any of my medical friends can feel free to fill me in here.

After what felt like a very long time he stopped shaking and lay limp. A kind man propped him onto his side. I was thankful for that because there was a lot of drool and some blood on which he did not need to choke. It was like no one knew what to do…including myself. However, I did know how to pray. I had been listening to some great praise music and a song that played continually was by Paul Blaloche called “Your Name”. It talks about the Power, Healing, and Peace in the name of Jesus. So, after prompting the woman that was with the guy to go to him, I went up behind him and just said the name of Jesus: hoping with all my might that His Power, Healing and Peace would be on the man. I asked for towels so that we could at least wipe the sweat and saliva from his face and try to get him aware of what was happening. At first I was hesitant to jump in and help but I figured no one knew that wasn’t a nurse.

I found out the guy’s name was Martin. He was probably in his late 20’s and about 200 lbs. We had to hold him down b/c he was trying to get up. Since his dark eyes were rolling to the back of his head we figured it wouldn’t be a great idea for him to stand. I know I have muscles and all but he was hard to hold down. I kept asking the people around me if someone called a Doctor. No one had. Doctors don’t make restaurant visits. The lady with Martin said that had never happened before and she was pretty shaken. I kept repeating that he really needed to see a Dr. and that I would drive them to the hospital if they wanted. Obviously I didn’t pull it off as a nurse because no one took my advice. After some time Martin got up and walked out of the restaurant. I think everyone was glad because no one had died inside, they mopped up, moved the tables back and everything was back to normal. I, on the other hand, didn’t feel so normal. Even though Martin was o.k. I was reminded that it is so important to live each day to the fullest.

Faith and Admiration

That same Thursday, in the morning, I had to drive the obstacle course of Nairobi roads on the outskirts of town about 45 minutes to a place called Spring Valley School. It is one of the places our last team worked with. Pastor Nganga and his wife started Spring Valley eight years ago. The housing development (slum) was started when the garbage trucks went to pick up people from one area of town where developers had purchased the land from under the people, and moved the people to the outskirts. The city sent the garbage trucks for the people because that was what they considered to be their value.

When Pastor “N” started there they had to bury over 400 children due to cold and malnutrition. Conditions were devastating and because the people didn’t have enough money to pay the morgue when their child died, they would cut up the body and throw it into the sewer. The pastor tried to cover burial costs and he said that sometimes they would just have to make “deliveries” to the morgue, at night, when no one was around, because there was no money to pay.
Pastor “N” had been a chemist and had quit his job to take on this mighty task. His wife had been a banker. They were successful but knew when they found out children were starving that they were called to something more. They started a feeding program, the children started surviving and now they run a school with over 200 children. They feed these kids 2X’s per day. That means they need over 1.8 tons of food per month. That is a lot of food, especially when they are doing it on faith.

I had the privilege to deliver some money that the team had left. As I drove up to the hot and dusty area, and walked past the litter strewn on the ground and the outhouse that puts out such a stench it could turn your nose inside out, I thought, “I couldn’t work in a place like this”. The school building is made of stone and without plaster on the walls and only dirt floors it is unappealing to the eyes. But then, the Pastor and his wife sat me down in their tiny little office that is made of sheet metal and they thanked me for bringing the cash. They were 1/3 short on food supplies for the month and said the cash came at just the right time. The kids at their school are so bright, cheerful and smart and it is obvious that they are blessed to be able to be part of the program. Pastor N who is so jolly, despite his heart attack last year, and his beautiful wife are making due with their limited resources. They serve with their whole hearts. They abound with testimonies of how God has provided and introduce each child with pride. They just had a woman deliver wood for the month so they can cook the food, there are teachers that volunteer their time, people that show up randomly to help and it is obvious that God is faithful. The team purchased paint for the kitchen where the food is cooked over an open fire and I got to see how it had brightened up the place, making the cooks’ job a little bit cheerier.

The statement was made that people often won’t step out and do something because they think they have to be capable. The work is obviously beyond what they are capable of doing. However, all God asks for is willingness. How cool is it that if we are willing to be used, that He will use us and that He can make change through us…not in our power, but in His??!! I was so encouraged by these two amazing people and I left realizing it is an honor for those who work in such a place.

Excitement

As I drove to the site and saw the progress on the building of the baby dorm at Into Abba’s Arms I felt such excitement. The walls of the first floor are almost up and I am watching a dream turn into reality. We have been blessed with some amazing donors that have made this happen thus far and I wish words could express the difference it will make in the lives of children that otherwise would never get to experience a home and love.

We also had a basketball court poured, the hoop put up and a couple of weeks ago we had over 100 people on site playing and enjoying our land. There was volleyball, basketball, soccer, swinging, jump roping and lots and lots of smiles. The best part was having the adults in the community playing. In a culture where they work so hard from sun up to sun down simply to survive, play is a luxury. Those of us at IAA were so blessed to be able to share in their joy.

Hope

I have hope that we will have all we need to not only build the dorm, but to furnish it. Hope that the obstacles we have faced over the last month of having to overhaul the engines on both IAA vehicles and other financial issues that have arisen will not hold us back too long on construction. And, I have hope that we will have volunteers come and hold children. My greatest hope is for our kids to grow up loving the Lord and allowing Him to use each of their lives for His glory.

Amazement

Maggie is one of the high school girls that I wrote about last year that needed a sponsor. She is a 15-year-old gentle hearted young lady that has a million-dollar smile. We have grown close since she started attending school in Nairobi as she spends her holidays both at IAA and with me. She is one of the girls I wrote about last year that was sleeping on a wooden plank because her aunt, herself and her cousin had no mattresses.

She told me that her aunt was going to kick her out last December when she finished the 8th grade because she was a burden. She told her she could find a man and be a housewife…just what every 15 year old dreams of…

Maggie started praying daily and her friends, including Christian ones, were mocking her. She held a steadfast faith within that sweet heart of hers that God knew where she was. Right about that time I got to meet Maggie…God placed it in my heart to send out a letter for someone to invest in her and two other young ladies in dire need. God moved on the hearts of a handful of individuals to pay their first year of high school. I went and picked Maggie up and her friends stopped laughing and started praying. Her aunt was relieved of a “burden” and we were blessed with a Treasure. And, my amazement was rekindled of how great things are when the body of Christ works together.

Gratitude

My heart continually overflows with gratitude like a brook that overflows with water as I watch our blessings overflow into the community. Because I have enough food and clothing due to those who are generous with me I can share with those who are hungry and don’t have enough garments. Because we have sponsors and friends that bless us at IAA we have extra shoes and clothing that we share with some happy kids in the community that otherwise walk barefoot through the mud and sleep each night struggling to stay warm.

My heart is continually grateful for a Father who creates and maintains unity and spreads His generous love like a soft blanket that is big enough to cover us all.

I will be traveling to the states in Nov-Jan and will be sharing more about ways people can make a difference in the lives of orphans. As I see so many children and teens that crave a better life, not merely to exist, kids with dreams and aspirations, I am compelled to do as much as possible. If you are interested in helping, hearing more or just visiting please let me know so I can try to work it into my schedule.

If you would like to make a tax-deductible donation to help with the baby dorm, school fees for one of our teenagers, or Spring Valley, or for the teams-any other ministry you saw and want to help, please earmark your donation and send it to:

ITHM
23223 S. Warmstone Way
Katy, Texas 77494
Asante sana!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.037s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0733s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb