The Journey-Ch.7* All in 11 Days Work...


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Central Province » Kinangop
March 18th 2007
Published: April 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Upon entering Kenya a United States Citizen pays $50 for an entry visa that allows him/her to stay in the country for thee months. After the three months you may renew one time and receive another three months.

My six-month period was approaching its end, as well as Chris and Becky’s…two other American volunteers at Into Abba’s Arms.

Most recently I inquired about how to obtain a work visa, which would give us one to two years permission to be in the country. A manager at the office for Non Governmental Organizations (NGOs), who is going to help us get work visas, informed us to leave the country and cross over the border into Tanzania, then to come back into Kenya so that we could get fresh visas. At that point the NGO office would help us start the long, tedious procedure of applying for a work visa. Once we are approved we get to start paying income tax not only in America, but here as well.

Chris, Becky and I asked our Kenyan friend Geoffrey to come along on what we thought was going to be a three-day adventure to cross the border. Due to the fact that he knows the language, roads, cultures and directions we figured this was a smart move. We were right.

We packed our small bags and grabbed some cash, all in preparation of a three-day journey. We were going to visit a Bible college in Arusha, Tanzania, only four hours away from Nairobi.

When we arrived at the border we got out of my car, walked to the office and filled out the exit form for leaving Kenya. Sheepishly I took mine to the officer on duty. I’ve been through enough border crossings to know that the person who looks at your passport likes everyone to know how much power he/she has.

This older gentleman who was on duty flipped through our passports, looked up at us from behind the counter and asked where we were going. We told him then he inquired, a bit gruffly, “What are you doing after you visit Tanzania?”. We replied innocently, “Coming back to Kenya.” Much to our dismay the rest of the conversation went something like this;

Immigration Officer: “No, you aren’t coming back to Kenya”.
Me: “But I was told if we leave the country then return that we will be granted new entry visas into Kenya”.
Officer: “Who told you?”
Me: “The Manager at the NGO office.”
Officer: “If you have car problems do you go ask a chef what to do?”
Me: Mouth gaping, standing dumbfounded, with no reply.
Officer: “You must leave Eastern Africa in order to be allowed back into Kenya.

Chris, Becky, Geoffrey and I kicked into fast action and discussed our possibilities. Since flying out to a different country was going to be too expensive we narrowed down our possibilities to driving out of Eastern Africa. We walked over to the wall to look at the old map hanging on the drab and dirty walls, to discover which country was the closest. Our choices were Zambia or Malawi. I knew a few things about Malawi from some missionaries there; 1. It is a beautiful country. 2. They hate pork but for an afternoon snack you can purchase, “rat on a stick”. 3. Rat eating is not mandatory. We knew nothing about Zambia except that is sounded remote and perhaps scary. We chose Malawi.

What followed was 4 car breakdowns in the burning African sun, getting to see snow capped Mt. Kilimanjaro, beautiful Lake Malawi, strong women carrying 20 lbs. of bananas on their heads, baboons that looked as if they were ready to challenge us to a duel (we politely declined), gas stations that didn’t accept credit cards, bank machines that didn’t work, a Western Union that was out of money, amazingly wonderful and welcoming people, 3,000 miles and, at last, a three month Kenyan visa when we rolled back in after 11 days.

Investments

After writing my last update telling people about Janet, Ann, and Margaret, the three young girls that needed help with school fees so that they could attend high school, I was thrilled to get four responses. Without an education it is almost impossible to escape the cruelties of poverty. Each girl has had her first year of school paid in full and the cost of their books and uniforms covered! I even have started their fund for next year that has covered another year for Margaret.

I took school for granted…it was free and we were “forced” to go at times…at least I was. Here, these three girls are filled with gratitude because they get to learn! I visited Margaret (Grace’s sister) and I was amazed to hear how much her English has improved and how happy she is after just 2 ½ months as a freshman. She told me she loves school! Thanks to all of you who have made this year possible for the girls!!!

Baby Geoffrey

I got to meet some of our neighbors the other night. It was already dark inside and out as the generator was off. My phone rang. It was our night watchman calling to say that our neighbors were at the gate. I knew something was wrong at that moment because the whole village already seemed to be sleeping.

He told me their two year old boy, Geoffrey, had been burned and needed a ride to the hospital. I grabbed my keys and took baby Solomon to our administrator. (It was my turn to keep him for the night). I rushed out to get the car started, praying frantically as I was nervous that the boy would be screaming and that I had to drive at night, 30 minutes to get to the hospital. It is not uncommon for trucks or cars or bicycles to be on the road without headlights, making driving a bit tricky.

Unlike America, you can’t just call the ambulance and expect them to arrive any time soon.
We loaded in the car and true to the Kenyan nature, everyone was very calm. I was trembling on the inside, praying that I wouldn’t cry as they were telling me how their 2 year old fell into the pot of boiling water that was on their charcoal jiko (a jiko is a little stove that sits about 1 foot high off the ground. It is filled with charcoal and is used to heat water or food. This is what many people use in the village to cook on).

I think the baby was in shock because he slept the whole way. I was so thankful as I had to stop for fuel and I was praying, “God, please don’t let this baby die!”. I don’t know much about burns but the worst comes to mind in such a situation.
We finally arrived at the hospital. There was no emergency room, only 4 small rooms lit up with separate entrances and one very tired looking nurse. She had us walk Baby Geoffrey in and lay him on the black tarp lying over a mattress. They unwound the blanket from around him to reveal the third degree burns on his head, face and arms. The skin has simply peeled down from 2/3rds of his arm and was bunched up around his fingers. He looked like a white baby underneath his black skin.

They gave him painkillers, had us buy some cream and said the doctor would treat him the following day. We walked with the mother towards the pediatric ward. As we passed the bathrooms my stomach did a flip-flop. The stench of urine was overwhelming. We then passed through the double doors into a very large disorganized room where there were about 64 mothers and 64 sick children. There was a man putting grout into the tiles on the floor, a soccer game playing loudly on the static filled t.v. and more people than seemed possible to be in one place. The nurse asked one of the women to move herself and her baby into the next bed with another mother and baby so that Geoffrey and his mom could have their own bed. Because they were full some mothers needed to share beds.
In the room were at least 4 other children with 3rd degree burns on their backs, faces and arms. The whole scene was overwhelming and heartbreaking. I’ve never seen people that work harder than Kenyans and it is sad to see such suffering. If baby Geoffrey comes to mind please be in prayer for his complete healing.

On a lighter note I have also met some other people in my new church. After seven months of being out of the country I have finally found a church to attend. It is an international church and such an answer to prayer! I am excited to get involved, make new friends and possibly go with some of the women to minister in the local women’s prison.

Construction

Construction still has not begun at into Abba’s Arms, or Through the Storm Ministries (another ministry that I am trying to assist to get an orphanage built…throughthestorm.org). We have faced many obstacles and often feel like we are working in quicksand. However, we believe in God’s timing that things will fall into place. We have meetings with local authorities and contractors this week.
Due to summer teams, our staff taking their vacations later this year, and building that will be going on we have decided it is better for my trip to the states to be sooner rather than later.

I will be arriving in Houston on April 2 and returning to Kenya before our first team on June 1st. I would love to share more about what is happening with your Bible study, church, family, club or simply you and I over coffee if I am in your area.

Feel free to contact me via email then once I am home over the phone: 281-392-2747.
Asante Sana, Thank You very much, to all who have contributed to the ministries in any way. We believe that together, through God’s grace and guidance, we are making a significant difference!

In Him~ Jennifer, and many others
















Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb