Back Home


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana
June 19th 2006
Published: June 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We got into Oda yesterday around lunch time and it's really good to be "home." Everyone was happy to see us and for once I didn't mind the kids yelling "obruni!!" (a more correct spelling) as we walked up. The tro-tro ride back was even more eventful than the ride there. We had to change tro-tros in Swedru, a neighboring town, and as we pulled into the station about 20 guys crowded around the fan and started pushing and yelling. They were all asking where we were going trying to get us to take their van. It was the first time I've seen Pratt flustered and he finally had to tell them to back up and leave us alone. I was one of the last ones to get off and the van started pulling off as I was stepping out! It scared me a little but I did a little hop and made it to the pavement feet first. As soon as I landed though, some guy grabbed my bag and started pulling me toward his van. The whole thing was very confusing and it all happened so fast. I started thinking of every Twi word that I know and the only thing I could think of was the word for "crazy"...hehe...I think because I look young, people try to take advantage of me first...so I've had to start asserting myself much more that I normally would. Anyway, I started yelling at him calling him crazy and grabbed my bag out of my hand. He smiled at me, patted me on the shoulder and called me a "smart obruni". Even though two seconds before he was acting like he didn't speak english.

Cape Coast gave me a little present....when we got back from Kakum, I noticed that I had little bites all over my legs that were bleeding. Sammy said it was the flies that were in the jungle. They itch really bad and I noticed yesterday that the bumps seem to be spreading. I woke up this morning COVERED and quickly found out that I actually have a "tropical fungus." It's all over my face, arms, and legs. Lemme just tell ya, I look hot. I freaked out a little but there's a cream here that's supposed to be a miracle that gets rid of it. It's an anti-fungal, anti-bacterial, anti-infammatory combination and Pratt stocks up on it everytime he comes. Let's just hope it doesn't burn my skin off. The explaination for it makes sense...it's so hot and humid here and our skin just it's used to being exposed to it all day. We're a breeding ground for infection...nothing better than a African fungus all over your face. I've decided that I've never been more ugly than I am now, besides the mullet haircut and uneven bangs I had when I was in elementary school.

Something I forgot to tell about Cape Coast...as we were driving back from Kakum (we got a taxi to avoid the tro-tro madness), our driver started poking me really hard and pointing out the window. This lady was standing on the side of the road holding the biggest snake I've ever seen. She had her arm straight up in the air and it went all the way down to her feet. It was huge! The driver said that she was trying to sell it for food and that people love to eat it. Mmmmm.

We made a GREAT discovery yesterday...we went into a Mobil Station, which is the BEST for stocking up on food, and found Laughing Cow cheese spread. Cheese is non-existent here so it was such a find. My aunt Patricia got me hooked on it a few months ago...I've already eaten soooo much of it today! It's really good spread on bread with a banana, it's my new lunch.

We had a huge storm today and the power and water usually goes out when it rains really hard. The expression "smell rain" is really true here because it is very obvious when it is going to rain. There is a "fresh" smell in the air and the wind starts blowing really hard. And it doesn't just sprinkle here. Whenever it rains, it REALLY rains. Poor Aqueia spent all morning washing our clothes and they got drenched.

Speaking of clothes...I think I'm the first person to have things stolen with the group. I'm missing some clothes and we've looked everywhere for them. I was wearing them one day and this girl I'd never seen before was sitting in our courtyard, she called me over and asked if she could have my clothes (they do this very often). I told her that I needed them now but would leave them here when I left. Now they're gone. We can't figure out how they would have been taken but they're definitely gone. Aqueia is on the case though and promised me that she would find them. She takes her job of taking care of us very serious. I wouldn't mind normally...but I didn't bring a lot in an effort to pack light so now I'm having to rotate my shorts every other day. It's been really hot so it hasn't been a good thing. I'm hoping I can get a couple of skirts made to get me through.

Well, hope all is well. Eat some real cheese for me. Happy late Father's Day to all the dads.

Advertisement



19th June 2006

Wow! Even through the struggles with fungi, thefts, and lack of cheese, it sounds like an amazing experience! I'm so jealous ;-) When you get back to Athens, we'll eat Mexican, and you can have all the cheese dip your heart desires! Keep having an absolutely incredible time!
22nd June 2006

Zippy
Laura - how are you coping without the ziplocs? I've decided that I'm getting you ziplocs for your birthday. Loves it!

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb