Nothing Much Happening...


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana
June 12th 2006
Published: June 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It's been kinda quiet lately. We didn't do much yesterday because it was Sunday and not a lot was open. I was pretty sick yesterday and stayed in bed most of the day but am feeling much better today. We've been watching a lot of football (soccer) because it's soooo huge here. Ghana and the US both play tonight (not each other) so we'll probably be staying in and drinking a lot of "minerals" and eating fresh bread around the TV. Ghana plays the US on he 22nd and everytime we get in a conversation with an adult male here, they start talking crap about the game. It's gonna be huge. We were watching TV the other day and our interview came on. It was soooo funny seeing ourselves on TV. It's evidently been airing over and over because people keep saying that they've seen it.

Hannah came in this morning with breakfast and was full of energy. While her girls were setting up, she came in mine and Lisa's room, plopped down on my bed and started hugging me and playing with my hair and talking in Twi. Lisa and I just laughed. I think she had heard that I was sick...but it's just really funny how motherly she is with all of us. If someone isn't at the table when breakfast is served, she'll go and kick them out of bed and drag them to the table. Hasn't happened to me yet, thank goodness. Lisa makes sure of that...she gets up around 6:00 to start organizing her things....

I'm sorry to say, I don't think I'm gonna be able to upload pictures while I'm here. The computers barely connect to the internet and uploading them would take an eternity. Maybe when we get to Cape Coast, which is more of tourist area. If not, I'll just post em when I get back. I'm getting some good shots so I'll try my best.

Sorry I don't have much to report today...Lisa and I are going to go down to the market after this to look for some bags and things and I'm sure something interesting will happen, it always does.

I just wanna say thanks for all the messages and comments...I was trying to respond to them all at first but you're all just too sweet and I can't keep up with them all. They really do make my day. It's so encouraging after a long sweaty day of being yelled and stared at to sit down at the computer and read encouraging words. Thanks so much...keep em coming :o).

Till next time...



Advertisement



12th June 2006

Indiana Jones-et
Your blogs are cool. Its like listening to a female Indiana Jones. Are you actually going to be doing any work there? I do have one question if you get a chance. My favorite meal of the day (and you know my question would be about food) is breakfast. What is she fixing for you?
12th June 2006

Sound like you could use a few quiet noneventful days!! I can't wait until you post a new blog, I love reading them. Keep them coming.
12th June 2006

Hey
Hey Laura-- Im really enjoying reading your blogs. I can't wait to see the photos! I do have to say that Im glad women with "full" figures (like us) are appreciated in Africa...I don't think I would know what to say either if someone made a comment like that to me! Oh and just so you know--I have become extremely addicted to Fat Free Pringles lately. Everytime I eat them I think of you. If I could I would ship some your way. Talk to you later!
13th June 2006

Love you
I just found out about your blog fron Anita so I haven't read all of it yet but I will. This is awesome and I'll be right there praying for you until your back home. I love you. Rita
13th June 2006

So today someone was talking about her trip to Ghana in my class..so i started talking about you and your experiences..the class enjoyed it! (just thought i'd let you know) oh...and no...I love you more!
19th June 2006

Pooks
Hey I miss you. Can you add me to your blog list. I have been getting them from Corbin. My email is cmfernandes@bellsouth.net. Hope all is well. I am so inspired by you for doing this. I do not think I could handle it. Love MJ

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb