Finally in Oda


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana
June 9th 2006
Published: June 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We FINALLY arrived in Oda last night. Most of us were going a little stir crazy at the hostel and were ready to get to the village so we could get settled. As we drove out of the city, the views completely changed...everything is BEAUTIFUL in the bush. Everything is vibrant green will rolling hills and clumps of REALLY tall, beautiful trees over the landscape. The smell in the air is also completely different than in Accra. It's a very natural smell, reminds me of when we would go camping when I was little. Also, in town, it smells like wood burning, which is one of my favorite smells. It reminds me of my grandparent's house in the winter-time. As we drove up to where we are staying, people were out in the streets, waving and yelling "ebruni!" When we got out of the car, a million little children gathered around and this tiny boy just walked up to me and grabbed my hand. He walked with me up to the house and I eventually picked him up. When I did, he immediately wrapped his arms and legs around me and held on tight...it was so precious.

Our house is great. All of our rooms are centered around a open-air courtyard where we eat and hang out. I'm sharing a room with Lisa (a girl in my program) again and I've made her contain her crap to one corner of the room, we'll see how that goes. She's so funny, before we go to bed and as soon as we gt up in the morning, she organizes ALL the stuff she brought...I've never seen so many ziploc bags. I was worried that I brought too much...my stuff takes up a third of the space that hers does! I give her such a hard time about it. She's been labeled the princess of the group. The water was off this morning and I had to take a bucket shower, which was not bad at all. I think I like it better than normal showers here...very refreshing. Anyway, I had to give her lessons on how to do it. It's funny, I would have liked to have seen my reaction if my dad had told me I had to take a "bucket" shower when I was little.

The food in Oda is much better than in Accra. Our cook, Hannah, is this very funny, jolly lady who gives us language lessons at every meal. She'll ask us a question in Twi (the local language) and if we don't answer back in Twi, we get scolded. I'm the worst at it I think, I just get this blank look on my face and she eventually feels sorry for me. Last night we had fish, beef, and chicken, all piled up on this platter with limes and other fruits. We also had rice, plantain, and salad (which I'm still scared to eat). She said she had a suprise for dessert...then brought out lemon cake with ice cream!! I'm not sure if it was the best dessert I've ever had, or I was just REALLY hungry. It was heaven on a spoon.

We walked around today and explored the city. Everyone is MUCH nicer here than in Accra and no one pushes or grabs you. They just yell "Ebruni" everywhere we go and we wave and smile. The little kids that hang out outside our house have also come in handy..I've learned that if you just call "small boy" out the door, a little boy will come and go to one of the stands and get whatever you need AND bring you change...we need to start doing that in America.

It's MUCH hotter here than Accra though...the only time I'm not sweating is when I'm taking a shower :o). Well, my time is running out...hope all is well. Thanks for all your messages and comments...I'm REALLY homesick so it's great to hear from home.

I'll be posting again soon...take care...

Advertisement



9th June 2006

I'm praying for you (and Lisa) and i love reading what you write! Miranda and I had a really good day surveying today. we found some really old really awsome stuff. love you and miss you :)
11th June 2006

Hi sweetheart. I miss you. Please be safe. I cannot wait to see you in the fall!! I love you!!

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0785s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb