Shiplife Till Ghana


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana
September 29th 2010
Published: September 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday
Today was the first day back in class after our spring break (10 days of no class). It was very hard to stay awake for all 3 of my classes. Yet I almost feel like I had the most productive day. I did a lot on my to do list but not all of it. I met with Chelsea and we wrote our letter to our fifth grade class. It was super excited and just made me think of second grade. Don’t worry mom, I am keeping them. Then tonight for dinner we met our extended family. It is a family away from home family. It’s a shipboard family, so it is an elderly couple that I can have thanksgiving dinner with and not feel home sick. We also do family game nights and ice-cream nights. I do however have a lot of homework I need to start working on. I am really not ready to get back into school for just a week, and then get off the ship again. Today was also the first day of malaria medication, hoping for no side effects.

Thursday
Wow, I have never slept so badly in my whole life. I tossed and turned the whole night. Very restless. It’s one of the side effects of my malaria medications, insomnia. I hope it is better than the vivid dreams my friends get and the sunspots. I am really trying to avoid the sun as much as possible. Today I only had one class so I got up early and curled my hair. It was fun to be girly again. I also colored a lot of pictures. The best part about the day was there was a Desmond Tutu book signing. It started at 4 so a few of my friends and I lined up. By the time we were in the very front of the line, 1 hour later, they said Desmond was tired and would put another one on soon. We were way bummed. So after that I went and filled out my customs forms for the ports we are going to.

Friday
Friday was a normal day. Nothing exciting happened. I emailed my dad a couple of times. But, It was global studies and we had a guest lecturer talk about Sustainability. It was very interesting. After that I went to my favorite class, organizational behavior. The teacher is awesome and the class is very interesting.

Saturday
YAY! Saturday, Best day ever! LAUNDRY DAY! It was beautifully sunny out and very humid. My day started with breakfast being sausage, French toast and cheese & egg omelets. Yes, it’s typically breakfast food for the boat but the sausage and French toast on the same day was awesome! After that I went up the seventh deck to start my four page paper. After that I finished a one page paper for the same class. It wasn’t even 10 o’clock and I was already sweating. After I finished doing the majority of my homework I came down to my room for about thirty minutes to color. Then I chit chatted with the roommate and headed off to lunch. Lunch was amazing! Mac & cheese, fish & chips, AWESOME! So I over ate and headed off to history. That class bores me, but I hope it will get better. By the time I was done with class it was 1:45 and time to work out. Working out on the ship is very hard with balance and not falling over. By 3 o’clock I was done and laying out on the pool deck and swimming in the pool. Stayed out there for an hour or so, and then headed in. I did some more homework and just chilled with some friends. By 10 o’clock I read hoping to get tired and go to sleep, but it didn’t happen. I stayed up till midnight, and then finally passed out.

Sunday.
Unfortunately it was another restless night. Tossed and turned. I woke up with all my pillows on the ground next to me and only my sheet on top of me. Hopefully this doesn’t last the 5 weeks I should be on this pill. On the bright side I get a lot of work done. I looked outside and it was raining! I threw on pants and a sweatshirt and headed to my 4 hours of class. Lunch today was taco day! Everyone loved it; it’s a nice change from the normal salad, pasta and potatoes. After lunch I came down to my room to take a nap but only ended up watching Saving Private Ryan. Not a great movie to watch when it’s pouring down rain. After the movie I met up with some friend and exchanged pictures from previous trips and waited for Colin and Brad to finish working out. We had planned dinner together since our friend, Charlie had his birthday. We got chocolate ice-cream cake for dessert for a different girl’s birthday too. It was awesome. After dinner we did homework and watched Tarzan. After Tarzan, Kelly, Kristin and I went up to the sixth deck and stood outside in the pouring rain! It was definitely a fun rainy day.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.376s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb