14th - Waste of a day


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana
March 14th 2006
Published: April 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post


I got up feeling fine, I hadn't drunk that much to feel bad the next day and
Ghanaian beer hasn't given me a hangover yet, obviously I need to do some more
research! I found the girls eating breakfast by the beach in my hotel, the
local guy chatting them up wasn't very happy to see me but I think they were.
It's not fun to be the victim of unwanted attention all the time and they had
a understanding sympathizer in me after being stalked for 2 days! Tua was a
it worse for wear and had drunk just as much as Anna who is half a foot
taller, maybe Anna should just drink more. We played the chili's through the
bars sound system and Anna put on Belle and Sebastian, I think they liked my
mp3 player more than me! Some local suggested a game of volleyball with a
couple of german girls which seemed a good idea, except it was too windy and
we were too crap. I had a good laugh watching Anna nearly drown with every
second wave, you wouldn't have though that girl lives in a seaside city but I
paid the price for laughing by losing my sunglasses to a rogue wave. Just as
I was gong to put them in my pocket too! 2 pearls of wisdom: Never turn your
back on the ocean and karma is a bitch.
The hotel food wasn't that impressive, it was 1pm, I'd had no breakfast and
the girls would make sure I wouldn't run out of money (they said) so I could
afford to eat again. For want of a better option we went back to Nana's for
lunch. We all ordered and got drinks. The girls started talking about pizza
for that evening, you needed to give notice so he could make it. We asked
Nana and he said we should write it in his book for advance orders. I went
and got my mp3 player when the electricity came back on. I had quite a few
swedish albums which obviously went down well with the girls. They were
playing crazy Swedish songs singing along, drinking coke and getting hungrier,
but then Nana likes to take his time and get it right! He kept telling me
about some goat meat he was cooking in tomato sauce. Yeah, great! Like Im
interested in dead goats...
I guess I waited maybe an hour and half to ask exactly when our food would be
arriving. 6.30pm he said... at least we saw the funny side, the girls were in
hysterics (low blood sugar). Yeah, our idea of a good time is sitting in a
little sweaty room for half an hour with no fan that's next to an open sewer
and then another hour listening to swedish pop while there's a beach not 50m
away where we could be swimming! Not. We repeated our order and went and sat
on the beach in despair to return in half an hour. Kind of a wasted
afternoon, but there really was nothing else to do. The girls did want to see
the fort in Dixcove but now it was late afternoon and we still hadn't eaten.
We played in the sand with the local kids for a while and followed the sewer
back to our food. We chatted to a middle aged belgian guy for a while who was
tucking into a lump of goat meat. Poor little bugger! Finally we got our
'lunch', just before sunset. Time for a few more beers anyway, it helps the
pain :p Since I had just eaten I asked if I could hold off on my evening meal
until I was ready. I got it half an hour later to the girls delight, they had
wisely cancelled their pizza. We had the restaurant pretty much to ourselves,
scaring all the other tourists of with obscure western music. The Japanese
couple that had been sitting next to us at breakfast (and drinking beer it
was soon noticed) came for some food and took delivery of a bongo drum they'd
ordered. The guy gave a demo and he was pretty good. He said he sold them in
Japan fr $450, and only paid about $40 for it.
The local kids loved the girls and were getting cheeky to the amusement of
Nana's wife. 'I love you' they said. 'I will kiss you tomorrow' and 'i will
kiss you tomorrow at eight o'clock'. We put on Michael Jackson and started
dancing in the street with the kids, Nana disappeared and was asleep around
the corner, exhausted from his day of not cooking our food. It wasn't that
late and we wanted to keep drinking but we were fed up with being in the same
place all day. We went looking for the party, but we'd drank our last beer of
the night. Alaska? Closed. Secret Bar? closed. We carried on down the beach
and although all the lights were off we could see 3 people smoking at the
sessions bar. Seems like this was the place.
The Rasta owner was a nice guy, he told us to come sit down and join the
party. He was cutting weed from a block the size of a video cassette, then he
rolled a massive bifta by the moonlight and lit it. The guy had some dread
skills! He went and got his bongo drum and we all stared singing some random
song. He tried to get the girls to sing whatever they were thinking about
and we could have some kinda freeform reggae improvisation session going on
but he was too stoned to explain it properly to them. I knew what he meant
but told him they were to white to be able to do stuff like that :p Mind you,
they we trying to teach me a simple phrase in Ghanaian to repeat over the drum
pattern and I couldn't keep it in my head. The girls wanted to sleep so we
said goodbye. Ask I went to leave they asked if I wanted to buy some ganja to
take home! Yeah, I'll take a couple of kilos! not! I staggered home to listen
to the Ozrics and Air.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb