My Last day


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana
August 23rd 2007
Published: October 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Aboadze BeachAboadze BeachAboadze Beach

Please look in my gallery to find more photos.
Thurs 23/08/07



I get up & still feel quite ill but know I must do my jobs as this would be the last time I would do them. I was told the children had missed me getting them ready for school, only because I muck around as much as they do & they like seeing the white man behaving like an idiot! But I don’t feel like mucking around as I know I will had to leave them here when I go home. I feel like I have broken a promise to them by leaving early but I know I must leave. The children have not been told I am leaving but they can pick up on my sadness & the atmosphere is quite subdued.



In the evening we do some drawing & plenty of singing. They love all songs I have taught them & the “happy, happy, joy, joy song” now has a 2nd verse thanks to the kids which goes “sleepy, sleepy Darren” as I look like crap every morning!

I have also wrote a song that I taught the children:
Ghana, Ghana is my country.
Ghana, Ghana be close to me,
My thinking treeMy thinking treeMy thinking tree

I would sit under this tree & wait for the children to finish school.

Like a lion strong & proud,
This is what I sing out loud,

Ghana, Ghana is my country.
Ghana, Ghana be close to me,
The sun is shining on my face,
Oh how I love this place!


One of the older children translates it into Fante so the kids are not just saying some words that they don’t understand. They come up with actions to go with the words & it makes me proud every time I hear them sing a song I wrote or taught them (especially when one of the boys sings it after they score a goal in football). These are the best things about my time away. Simple songs & games they all love & want to be a part of. One of my biggest fears about coming to Ghana was that I would not have anything to offer these children or they would not be interested in anything I showed or did for them. But they have loved everything I have taught them & most are just happy to sit next to me holding my hand chatting away! I realise that the most important thing I have done for the children is to just spend time with them. I feel like their older brother.

I will always remember my time at Jiko Orphanage & love all the people of Aboadze who welcomed me & looked out for me the whole time I was there.


IF ANY OF YOU HAVE BEEN READING THIS BLOG & WOULD LIKE SOME MORE INFO OR TO DONATE SOME MONEY TO JIKO ORPHANAGE PLEASE EMAIL ME. I CAN PROMISE LOVE & MONEY IS VERY MUCH NEEDED. THANKS FOR READING & PLEASE LOOK AT MY OTHER PHOTOS IN THE GALLERY.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb