Ghana Fever!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta
June 18th 2006
Published: October 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ghana SpiritGhana SpiritGhana Spirit

Me, Kiran, Malcolm and Anne getting into the spirit for the World Cup
I can't BELEIVE I missed the Ghana game! After watching how Czech played against the US I just assumed they would roll over Ghana but i guess not!

Me and another volunteer, Kiran from Toronto went out to see these water falls up by Lake Volta. It took a while to get there on tro-tros, about 5 hours for what should be a 2 hour trip, but it was worth it. Friday night we stayed in a swank hotel room. By swank I mean it had AC, a fan, a TV and running water (no hot water though). But it defintally was a little over our budget at 9USD a night per person. So Saterday we decided to stay out right by the water falls, in a place the guide book descreibed as a "Chalet over looking the Boti Falls". For 2.5USD a person/night we got what we paid for, and I don't think chalet is quite the right description. It was great to be out in the country though and the people are so amazningly friendly. After Egypt, as soon as anyone does anything nice for me I find myself wondering how much I'm going to have to tip
Me and Kiran at the Sacred RockMe and Kiran at the Sacred RockMe and Kiran at the Sacred Rock

A sacred rock near the Boti water falls. Not all its cracked up to be (probably because it wasn't cracked up to be anything, the tour guide couldn't tell us why it was sacred, who it was sacred to). Althought definatly a scheme to get some money out of us I really didn't mind, the guide was honest and the walk was fun
the guy. But when I tired to hand one guy a tip here he just gave me a "aww what an ignorant little white kid" smile and told me to go buy myself something with it. I'm sure I greatly offended him but he was too nice to say anything.

The only downside was no electricity, which meant no TV to watch the world cup games. This was the first place in Ghana that I've been too where I couldn't find a place to watch the games. I got a general idea of what was going on from cheers and hollering coming from somewhere across the hills and forests, but it was dark and I had visions of wild monkeys hiding in the woods so i made no effort to trek over to the sounds (which turned out to be true according to the locals- but usually they only come out during the dry season). I also missed the USA game, which i wasn't holding out too much hope for until i read kendra's email- go team USA!!

Oops, my internet time is almost over, hope everbody's doing well!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb