Half Way Through ..


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta
August 22nd 2009
Published: August 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

So its Saturday 22nd August. Im more than half way through my trip! The internet has been a bit dodgy lately so the blog I did mid week did not save, boooo!! So now I'm a little unsure what has been saved and what hasn't apologies if I repeat myself!
Soo last weekend I went to Cape Coast, we had a 4 hour tro tro (like a mini van, jam packed, so uncomfortable) ride to Accra first, when we got there, as soon as we were parked up, taxi drivers were after us. We were going to the mall, a taxi driver wanted to charge us 10 cedis, this was way too much, we had been told by someone in Accra it should cost around 3 or 4 cedis. We refused to pay the 10 they were asking so walked off to find another one.. until the taxi driver gave in and we got it for 5 cedis. After getting to the mall, we all ate PIZZA, yummyyy. That was sooo good!! We then went on the internet for a bit and shopped ... bought CADBURY chocolate mmmm!! .. Again we tried to get another taxi to the tro tro station, but this time they were asking for 15 cedis !!!!!!! We walked off again , this time ended up getting one for 7. We had to get two taxis as there were 8 of us, our taxi driver was meant to be leading the way, but decided to overtake some cars in dangerous places, in the middle of Accra.. thought I was going to die.. so as a result we lost the other taxi. Our driver pulled over on the side of the road to wait but after 10 minutes they didn't turn up.. we told him to go and we'd meet them there, eventually got there, tro tro drivers were opening the taxi door before we had stopped properly, and getting our bags out of the car for us.. scary stuff. They were shouting at us to get in their tro tro, we had not found the others yet but they were not bothered. They were determined to take our bags off us and put them in the tro tro! Eventually a man came up to us (who had ID.. unsure who he was) but he helped us out, told us to watch our bags, and a lady he was with took us to this tent thing to see if everyone else was there. It was so crowded, at one point Ben saw some man opening Brittneys bag.. lucky he spotted it !! With no luck finding them still we were all getting annoyed, until we bumped into another man, it turned out that he was the other taxi driver... he had locked his taxi with everyone in it, so they would be safe and come to find us!! That was nice of him, our driver just drove off and left us. Sooooooooo eventually we got on a bus to cape coast, it was around 5pm now.. so glad it wasnt a tro tro, dont think any of us were in the mood for that. I rang the hotel to say we were leaving Accra.. but they said we had been booked in on the wrong day!!! Idiots... even though earlier in the afternoon when I rang to say we are coming, they said thats fine ?? Anyway, we eventually got another hotel, which was probably better... it had hot water !!!!!
Saturday morning, we went to Kakum National Park, we walked over some canopy bridges over the rainforest, that was cool, felt like I was on Im A Celebrity.. I didn't see any elephants though 😞
In the afternoon, we went to the beach, was pretty and disgusting at the same time!! One end was a big rubbish tip with a family of pigs eating from it!! We stayed there for around an hour on a cleanish part... then went to a restaurant right by the beach that served Western Food!
After that we went to Oasis Beach Resort for a few drinks, I had to go back to the hotel though, wasnt feeling that great after the food!!
Sunday morning Me Brittney and Tom went to Cape Coast Castle where the slaves were kept and deported from. That was interesting, we went into the dungeons where they were kept, and also a cell where the prisoners were left with no food, drink or light until they died!!! Horrible!! We left Cape Coast around 12 and headed back to Hohoe..

Monday-Friday I was at the orphanage. I'm really enjoying it there. I took some of my stuff with me for them. Had them making bracelets with cut up straws one day, drawing pictures the next day, glueing and sticking, blowing bubbles... etcccc. By the end of the week I had a mountain of pictures and letters that they gave me to bring back to England. I told them I would ask the children at the nursery to draw pictures to send to them, and also told them I would write, and maybe find some children that will write too! Looking forward to coming home, but really don't want to leave the kids !!! Must have taken at least 400-500 photos of the children this week !

It's Saturday now. Jenni left today, and Brittney and Jodie left in the week. Tom and Anya have gone to Ho for the weekend and Ben has gone to watch the football.. so looks like I have a weekend to myself!

1 week and 6 days I will be home!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb