Back home in Macduff


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta
March 7th 2007
Published: March 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I've been back in Scotland for 5 days now, and I am still getting used to 'normal' life! During the last couple of weeks in Ghana I thought I was ready for home but now I am home, I want to go back! I had to adjust to life in Ghana, and now I feel like I have to adjust to life in Macduff again!
When I first arrived home, my house seemed very strange. I'm not used to seeing houses with living rooms, bedrooms, kitchens etc. And the hot water in the shower was a bit of a shock to the system! But I must admit that I had the best sleep I have had in the last 2 months.
I didn't realise while I was in Ghana that I was losing weight, but since I got home a lot of people have commented how thin I am. I weighed myself and I have lost more than a stone in weight - it's not because I wasn't eating, it must be the excessive sweating over the last 8 weeks!
I definitely plan to go back to Ghana, and visit some of the children and people I have made friends with. I am also going to continue fundraising for the school and orphanage and the student I want to support over the next few years.
I left for Ghana not knowing what to expect or what I could achieve. 8 weeks later and I think I managed to achieve something and had a great experience that I will never forget. Look out for my next instalment in 2008!

Advertisement



13th March 2007

hi, just stumbled onto your blof. Im leaving for Ho in June, i will be working in an orphanage. perhaps the orphanage you were at???. I would love to get some info from you on what to excpect, what i should bring... this is my first volunteer experience abroad, your travel blog really did help me, prepare for what is to come. Would love to hear more from your experience. You can contact me at uheiss@hotmail.com

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb