Another story.....


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta
February 21st 2007
Published: February 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

I was just saying in my previous blogs that being in Woe gave me the opportunity to witness some real poverty, when it has been staring me in the face all along.
There is a local lad who helped me buy the beds and matresses for the orphanage - in fact, I doubt I would have managed without his help. He is only 19 years old and lives quite near the base. He lives with his 89 old father in what can only be described as a mud hut and his mother lives in Togo, which is a neighbouring country. I realised they must be poor but did not realise the extent. Yesterday, I had to go and exchange the matresses for some that were better quality and he came with me again. He handed me an envelope but asked me not to open it until later and let another volunteer (Courtney) read it too. Courtney is at the same school as me and arrived at the same time so we know a lot of the same people. His letter explained how his father and mother were both elderly and had no money. He needed to pay school fees within a couple of weeks or the school would 'sack' him. Earlier in the day he also told me how he had not eaten that day because they had no food, but he was used to 'fasting' and it was nothing for me to worry about (I was meant to be going out for a meal at a hotel last night but this was quickly scrapped).
I met him again last night and realised the extent of his problems. His father does some farming and this is where they usually get the money to pay for his school fees. But last year they made a loss and he explained that they need to leave the land for a year or two to become fertile. Without any income from farming (which is practically nothing anyway), they have no way of paying the school fees. His father told him they needed to pray to God for help or he would have no education and become 'useless' to society. His father also cried when he explained he could not help him. His father, who is 89 remember, appears to spend his days sitting in his mud hut. He is quite a pathetic character and speaks little or no English.
The son (who I do not want to name), sleeps at a neighbours house because there is electricity and he needs light to study. However, he just sleeps on the floor of an outside church. He did not go to school until he was 10 years old because he had to work when he was a child to raise some money to go to school.
I asked how they would live for the next 2 years and he said they had some crops left over from last year that they can sell or use for food, but I doubt this will last them very long.
Anyway, last night we brought him some food and me and Courtney have agreed to pay his school fees for the next 2 years, which amount to approximately 300 pounds. He is hoping to become an architect or have some kind of career in building construction. He studies every day, often getting up at 4.30am to study. I genuinely believe he wants to achieve something with his life - and unless he finishes school there is no hope for him. I could tell that he found it difficult to ask for help - he was embarrassed and could not really look at us.
Today we were invited to see his father, who thanked us and told us that God would bless us (yes, again). His father was the happiest I have seen him, and I know that he will no longer have to worry about his son. Not that I'm made of money, but it will cost about 40 pounds per term, which we can take it in turns to help pay - and I've told him that he has to design my house when he's finished his training.
Other news - I went to the orphanage yesterday and the beds have been safely delivered. I had to exchange the matressess but everything is now in place. The children were excited at getting the beds and the room looks completely different. It's good knowing they will get a decent sleep. And some of the other volunteers have started to paint the room so I was helping with that today aswell.
I was back to school yesterday and some of the kids were asking me if I had just been back to Scotland for a few days! Today, I tried to explain to them that I will be leaving next Friday, which I think they understand but they also ask when I will be back. Having said that, some of them must know I am leaving for good because they have started asking me to buy them toys or clothes before I go! I seem to spend half my time being poked or prodded by the kids, because they are stilll fascinated by my hands, face and hair. Today, a few of them even started to smell by skin (which is brave in this heat), and I was told that the 'white mans meat is sweet!!' They must be planning to eat me before I leave.

Advertisement



22nd February 2007

Poverty is so real
Hello Ricki, I enjoyed this post so much, but it really brought back the reality of just how despirate things are in Ghana for many people. A friend recently called me to say that one of his fathers wives (2 wives) young daughter of three years old is not walking yet and he thinks it is because of bad nutrition. It is so sad. The need is so great there that it boggles the mind. Have you ever looked at the ONE.org website-the one that Bono works with. If not when you get home check it out. This organization is working really hard to provide aids medication and food and they are an organization that carries a lot of weight because of their enormous membership. I heard last week that the young man that I am educating at one of the Universities in Kumasi has been chosen as 1 out of 18 from a group of 750 students to attend the London Book Fair in April. He was so excited until I explained that I can't afford to spend $2,000 for a two week trip to the UK for him at this point and he was just heartbroke. He never asks for anything but he wants to have a chance to make his way out of Ghana so he can support his family and as the visa for this trip is guranteed this would be good for him. It broke my heart to tell him that I can't pay that much money for him to go, and he has accepted it gracefully, but to be chosen and not be able to go was a crushing blow to him. Usually the school finds sponsors to pay for most of it but have not found any this year. I know your days are growing short but you will forever have Ghana in your heart! I'm so happy that you have had this opportunity and that you have really done so much for those kids that you have taught and whose lives you have touched. They will talk about Ricki forever! Good Job!
22nd February 2007

Great job
I love reading your blogs and all the wonderful things that you are doing in Ghana. You are truly a wonderful person and hopefully, these kids can repay you by making something out of themselves.
24th February 2007

Hi Ricki
HI there ricki long time no spk after reading your latest blog i just wanted to say well done for all the things u have done out there !!!! in your latest blog you said that you were coming home i was in total shock and could not belive you have been away for two whole months i hope you have had a nice time there and i am sure when u come back you will be telling me all about it, well i am off - see you soon =] Matthew

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb