Half way there....


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta
February 4th 2007
Published: February 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm now half way through my time in Ghana - the last 4 weeks have past really quickly, and I'm now looking forward to simply enjoying the next 4. I've done so much over the last 4 weeks and it's only now that I feel like I've settled in and am getting to know everyone.
It's been a bit of strange weekend because most of the group that arrived at the same time as me left on Friday and there are now 13 new volunteers. It feels like my house has been taken over by strangers! I'm sure I'll get to know them all soon enough.
I decided to go and get my hair cut on Saturday and it cost me 75p! I was a bit scared because I think the hairdressers here simply shave all your hair off. I explained that I was just wanting it cut, and the hairdresser sort of nodded his head and set to work with his clippers - there were no scissors! Fortunately, he did understand that I was not wantng all my hair shaved off and it's not too bad (no more than I could expect for 75p). He pulled out a razor blade at one point and started combing it through my hair which concerned me a bit, but I'm still alive.
I also bought a football for the children at the homebase, but decided they had to find it by following some clues. I did this partly because I thought they would enjoy it and also because I know I should not just hand over gifts (it's against the policy of the charity). Therefore, by making them search for it, they kind of had to work for it! Anyway, they were not too sure what to do to start with but once they got the idea behind a treasure hunt they went a bit wild! They were charging around the base, and went crazy when they eventually found the football. It's difficult to explain, but I could see the genuine excitment and happiness on their faces at getting a football that cost me one pound. Children from neighbouring houses come round just to see this football - I think I'll buy a few more before I leave.
Another sad thing here is that people have little or no medication. Remember the boy that I met who has to carry water from a well to his house - he had a cut on his foot and asked me if I had any plasters (band aids). It was not a serious cut but considering the conditions he lives in it could easily become infected. I forgot the first time he asked me, but he must have been waiting for me to provide it because the next day I met him, he quickly asked me again if I could give him a plaster. I made sure he got a couple to keep it clean and I'm sure he'll be fine, but it's just sad that something as simple as a plaster is not available to people.
I met Desmond who is in my class at school on Saturday and I asked him if his mother liked her card he made in class. He said she did, and then disappeared into his house. He came back out with a couple of sweets for me and shyly told me that his mother had said to give them to me!
Back to school tomorrow - I'm not sure what I'll be doing with the children this week, but no doubt it will be usual mixture of chaos, laughter and sometimes sadness. This weekend I've felt a little bit homesick, but I've only 4 weeks left so am going to make sure I enjoy every minute.


Advertisement



5th February 2007

well - what can I say!!
I really want to tell you all about the pickle you left us in and about how much we are missing you and about how we are struggling to cope, however I don't want you to feel guilty (or give you a big head) so I won't go on and on I'll just shut up! Seriously, I am thoroughly enjoying reading all about your adventures and can just picture the sheer deprivation but at the same time how little make the kids so happy. (I hated the story about the kids being caned - that put a shiver down my spine). I also feel through your tales that you are having a great time and I hope that we will see you back in March? I can't believe that you are half way there already and hope that the next 4 weeks is as enjoyable for you as the last 4 have been. Keep the tales coming.
5th February 2007

Ricki I need some advice
Hi Rikki, I see that you have really settled in and are really enjoying Ghana. That is great. Now that you have been there for a month and have worked in a school I wonder if you could give me some advice. When I come to Ghana in June I would like to bring some school supplies and I am wondering what you would suggest. When I was there last time a teacher made the comment to me that many times kids will cut their hands when sharpening their pencil with a knife. Do you think that manually operated pencil sharpners that mount on the wall would be something that would be needed? I plan to bring pencils, individual pencil sharpners and things like that. Also do you think that erasers for the black board would be a help? Do they have them? Chalk??? I would really appreciate any suggestions you could give me since you have been in the schools. My e-mail is lschindler79@yahoo.com and I would really appreciate some input if you would be inclined to do that and have time to e-mail me.

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0919s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb