Feeling Better :)


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Northern » Tamale
July 25th 2008
Published: July 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Thanks for the words of encouragement and prayers. The Man Upstairs heard them and I'm feeling better. Health is back to normal (I think I had malaria - at least I was treated for it - but I didn't want to write that for fear of worrying Mom & Dad and the G-parents). But, not to worry, all is good now.

The last two nights, I cooked my own dinner - spaghetti and sauce made out of tomato paste and water. It's not quite the same as Ragu but it was still pretty heavenly compared to some other food I've had to force down. Add some onions, peppers, and tuna and it makes for a pretty good meal.

After seeing how happy cooking my own food made me, I realized the two things I've really missed and that have been difficult here in Ghana:
1. I miss my independence. I really like to be able to do things on my own and I've felt kind of trapped with the family. I guess I could if I really wanted to, but when I suggest taking a walk or a taxi into town, my host mom makes it sound like I shouldn't. Hard to explain. She's nice and the kids are great, it's just that I don't do anything. I've gotten over that I'm not doing any volunteer work, but I'd at least like to be able to explore a little.
2. I really miss Western/American food (or just food that doesn't make me wince when I swallow it)!

Luckily, both of these "problems" will be solved on Sunday. I'm taking the 11-12 hour bus ride back to Accra and then I will have a day and a half there to explore. I'm really looking forward to returning to this pizza restaurant that I went to when I arrived! mmmmmmmmm.

Advertisement



25th July 2008

It didn't work!
Hey, Kiddo, we were plenty worried anyway as you know by now if you received our emails and/or private messages! So very glad you are feeling better, enjoy the pizza place and we will see you soon. Love, Grandma
31st July 2008

Yay
I'm glad you're doing better, Monica. Living with a host family is difficult, but you definitely discover important things about yourself when you're there. I hope you can still make the most out of the rest of your time in Ghana.

Tot: 0.332s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0697s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb