Gone to Ghana: My African Adventures


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Teshie
July 7th 2014
Published: July 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

July 6, 2014



Where the river meets the sea…that’s Ada Foah. My first weekend trip was quite interesting. A friend of ours has a place on Ada Foah, which is an island between the Volta River and the ocean. Some of the volunteers stayed at Amos’s house, and the rest of us stayed at a hotel with huts on the beach. We were celebrating a volunteer’s birthday, which was on Saturday. Those of us staying at the hotel had to take a boat back and forth, which for someone like me who likes boats and water was fun. However, that wasn’t the case for everyone. I was glad that there were 4 other Americans with me on Friday to celebrate the Fourth of July. We had fun telling everyone what we do to celebrate our Independence Day. (Ghana’s Independence Day is March 6th.) Amos kept us well fed over the weekend. CK, who’s from Malaysia, did all if the grilling. He is a great chef! On Saturday he even grilled breakfast, lunch, and dinner.



The most striking thing about the weekend was when I took a walk between Amos’s house and the hotel. The difference between the rich neighborhood, where Amos’s place was, and the fishing villages was incredible. I just wish that I had had my camera with me. The thing that surprised me the most was how immediate the contrast occurred. The rich houses stopped there was a fence and then there were huts made of palm branches and bricks. The buildings were in obvious need of repair while the people were dressed in ratty clothing and clearly needed more food. There were also piles of shells all over the place. I asked Jamal about it and he said that they make a powder to put on their faces to make them lighter.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Jamal in his life jacketJamal in his life jacket
Jamal in his life jacket

Apparently most Africans don't know how to swim. However, Jamal claimed that he could, but he refused to prove it.
Woman carrying load from boat to shoreWoman carrying load from boat to shore
Woman carrying load from boat to shore

This was the beach at the hotel, and I never found out why they painted the bottoms of the palm trees.
Jamal acting out TitanicJamal acting out Titanic
Jamal acting out Titanic

He's Prince of the world!
Amos and meAmos and me
Amos and me

Check out my new African dress. I bought the fabric and took it to a tailor.


7th July 2014
Amos and me

Looking good, Laurel
Laurel -- You look great in that dress. Looks like you had a great weekend and are having a god time all around. Keep it up. Love, Dad
14th July 2014

I am really enjoying your blog!
Hi Laurel, I'm your "stealth" blog follower, but decided I should let you know how much I'm enjoying your adventures. You rock it, girl! I'm impressed - I don't think I would have the nerve to do what you are doing. Enjoy and keep the blog and pictures coming. --Kit

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb