Gone to Ghana: My African Adventures


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Teshie
June 17th 2014
Published: June 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

June 17, 2014



Most of us just got back from a late night at the orphanage. We took dinner and brownies over to the children and stayed to watch the World Cup game between the US and Ghana. When Ghana scored the tying goal Jamal and the children went insane. I seriously wanted Ghana to win the game, and I’m not sure if Jamal believes me or not. However, for someone like me who is very proud to be an American and takes pride in my loyalty I knew that the US and I didn’t need that game. For that one moment of the game and seeing how that brought those children, who have so little, to life was truly a life changing moment. In one week these children and this country have stolen my heart. Everyday I’m reminded of how trivial our first world problems are and that these children are the reason that I came here.



Watching Jamal on daily basis and getting to know his story is also quite amazing. As I mentioned before he is first in line for one of the Ghanaian Tribes. Over six years ago at the age of 25 he was working in a bank and realized that that wasn’t what he wanted to do with his life. At the period of his life where most men would want a bachelor pad with plenty of privacy he sacrificed his personal life to live in a house where volunteers are constantly coming and going. His whole life is the Dream Africa Care Foundation.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb