Last full day


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Teshie
August 4th 2013
Published: August 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Last night, I was happily chilling on the patio at about 11pm, when Ryan and Shauna twisted my arm to go to the bar. I found out that it's called "Purple Roof". It didn't take much convincing, so off we went. As happened the night before, the dogs walked us all the way there (Bobby and Peace), and tried to even come up the stairs to the bar with us!



It was such a funny night - a few Ghanaian men came over to chat, and one of them (who claimed he lived in Holland) kept coming back again and again. He was so funny, the things he came out with. He said "Me and my sister...we have a child....from China....ooks like a zebra". And I started laughing - and said "You had a baby with your sister?! And he was like "yes" automatically(yes is the answer for everything here!) and then looked horrified once he realized what he had said. He was saying "No!No!That is illegal!You're a bad girl!" and grinning and and laughing. He was just hilarious. He kept saying Shauna was a bad girl cos of her lip piercing, that Ryan would make a good wife, and that I was somewhere in the middle (sounds cool to me, not the wife bit though!).



Today (Sunday) has been chilled. I packed and tidied up a bit. Played a lot with the dogs. I will miss them so much, particularly Kalimotxo!



This afternoon, Laura, Ryan and I went to get pizza from Brigade. As we were walking there, to the pizza cafe (which I only just found out about, it's called "Greggs"), Jamal drove by, having decided he was wanting pizza too. So we hopped in his car, and he drove us there. We ordered pizza, and the lady didn't write it down. Then a few minutes later she came back, and asked again. We repeated our order. Again, she didn't write it down, and Jamal suggested she should, but she didn't. An hour later, they were still cooking our order. 3 pizzas (one medium, two large), a portion of fries, and some chicken and chips for Ryan. When the food came, Ryan's was correct. They had made Laura's medium pizza large instead of medium. Then they mixed up mine and Laura's pizzas so she started eating mine (you can't tell here, as the toppings go UNDER the cheese!). I poked at my pizza and found chicken, so we switched. I started to eat mine, and found olives in it (which I had specifically asked to miss off of my pizza). The portion of plain fries turned up with chicken and coleslaw on the side. And the pizza wasn't even that good! But hey ho - better than some of the food I've had.



Just been chilling since I got back, and badgered Jamal enough that I finally got my volunteer t-shirt 😊 He gave me my certificate yesterday. He's left now, to go and meet somebody so I have said my goodbyes to him. Urgh. I don't want to go home! This has been an amazing summer.



I'll leave here in about half an hour, and wander up the road to get a taxi to the airport. No need to book here, you stand there for 30 seconds and about 5 or 6 taxis drive past. Let's hope for a safe and straightforward flight back to the UK. Now, I'm off to eat the rest of my pizza 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0725s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb