School supplies day!!!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Teshie
May 13th 2009
Published: May 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So yesterday was my last day at the school. It's been a rough week of "lasts." Last time I'll eat at my favorite restaurant, last time I'll go to the market, last time I'll go to Osu, etc. I'm trying not to think about going home too much because it just makes me so sad. I can't believe how quickly this semester went by. I look back on all the trips I've taken and all the friends I've made and I'm just not ready for it to all end.

Anyways, before I get too sentimental, I want to talk about the last day at the school. We (me and Bethany) have been getting school supplies from all of our amazing friends and family (and some people we don't even know!! Thanks so much John's mom!!!!) and saved them up until the end. We brought the boxes of some stuff a week ago and then the rest yesterday. We handed out the pens and pencils to the kids and the teachers greatly appreciate the teaching tools. I took a ton of pictures of the kids andwe just spent our last day playing with them and spending time with them. They are just too cute!! I love learning the play ground games that they play and just having a lot of fun with them. I walked into the youngest kids' classroom and just go "Where are my babies?!" and they started screaming and swarming me. I am going to miss them all so much!!!

The school is making a lot of progress since Rodney (the founder) came from the US for a couple of weeks. Hopefully they will continue to stay on the same track. The school also needs help, so if anyone is interested in helping in any way, whether it be donations of any kind or you find yourself in Ghana and want to volunteer, contact me or e-mail Rodney at rodney.ramsue@globalcivicpreservation.org

Thank you for all your support!!! Its GREATLY appreciated

PS- I was trying to upload some photos but couldn't on the computers here, I'll try facebook

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb