Another experience


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Central » Cape Coast
April 19th 2009
Published: April 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

When we were setting off for Ghana some 14 months ago many people commented on the experiences we were going to have! These generally were about new people, food, scenery, culture etc…and of course we had all those and more in our first 6 months! Most of you will know of my husband’s admission to hospital and then his enforced return home to “benefit” better from the UK NHS. His initial expectation of 2 weeks at home was extended to 6 months so that initially I spent 6 weeks alone in Ghana ( an experience I did not expect) and then decided to take a planned leave of 3 months to return to UK, finding myself experiencing a English working life much sooner than I expected., and hoped. So when I returned here at the end of March it was with the fervent hope that the next 10 months would provide only those experiences we had formerly signed up for. Of course I was to be alone again for the first 4 weeks, whilst Dave was renewing his visa, having his final health check, and packing Jess off on her travels, but this was all accounted for.

Sadly though, within 2 weeks I had added another tick to my “not planned for” and certainly “ not desired” experience list……………..setting off early to catch a bus to Accra where I would meet the people coming to deliver a training programme on cerebral palsy, I tripped, not at all lightly, and heard the sickening crack of bone as the floor came up to greet me! After several tedious hours sitting around our local hospital ( happily not too sore, courtesy of a huge dose of pethidine that let me drift away completely from time to time), the UK medical unit of the esteemed outfit “supporting” me here decided that I must anyway go to Accra to ensure more expert treatment available….so 12 hrs after my tumble I arrived at the military hospital to meet the Lt-Colonel doctor ( in full army fatigues including calf -high boots) who would take me to surgery the next morning. Good result though - he thinks he has aligned it without any pins or plates - and, although sporting a rather heavy cast in this heat and humidity is not pleasant, it clearly could have been a lot worse. Off to Accra again tomorrow, for check-up, in the hope of more reassurance from the doctor - Sir!

Fingers now firmly crossed, on good hand at least….that this really is the end of our misfortunes. Certainly it was lucky that I had arranged for the 2 physiotherapists to stay with me whilst they are doing their training course as I would have been unable to shop, cook, wash-up or even dress / undress myself, and fortunately they are taking on these extra duties with exceptionally good grace.

Workwise - things are pretty much as I left them…..mostly this is positive ie most people remembered me, what we are trying to achieve etc, and remain enthusiastic…. BUT some things I had hoped would happen haven’t! and some opposition I was facing , has not gone away. But if things were going to be too easy, I’d only get bored.

Organisationally things are drifting as the new government completes their restructuring of the Ministries, the appointments of Ministers, Deputies and District Chief Executives, and civil servants are not clear where their futures might be. They remain surprisingly good-humoured and phlegmatic though.

Still missing most of you folks back home though……….


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb