Problog


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Central » Cape Coast
February 24th 2008
Published: February 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

If you are reading this you will know that I am in Ghana. If you know me then you will know why I am in Ghana. If for some reason you have come across this blog as a complete stranger then I do not feel the need to tell you why I am here. You are, nonetheless, welcome to read on and if you remain interested all will become clear.

I have no ambition to become a travel writer and my missives will not talk of smells (mainly because I cannot smell anything, apart of course from my friend Beetleā€™s odorously foul habits when clearing a space at any bar-but forgive me, I digress ), neither will I recount amazing sunsets or the like. If you are on VSO you will see your own amazing sunsets and if you are not, you would probably be bored or downright fed-up that that someone is describing something you are not present at or you have seen on your own travels.

So what will I talk about? Well that is not easy to answer. In truth, I do not yet know but I do know that if I do not try to chronicle the next two years in some way that I will come to regret it. In any event, if I do not, Gloria will continue to give me grief about being indolent and disinterested in my surroundings. The former may be true but the latter is not.

Much thought has gone into the way I am to approach this task. Should I write it in the first person or the third person? Should I concentrate on prose or dialogue? None of it matters of course but I should like it to be mildly interesting, if only when I read it back to myself.

I have decided, therefore, to enlist the help of two Ghanaian friends Kwame and Ama. Their part in this enterprise will vary from confidants to critics, advisors to advocates and teachers to adversaries. I hope that they will help me describe my experience whilst I am in Africa in a way that has some meaning and is readable. Gloria will not escape mention of course, for how could I ever ignore her?


Advertisement



26th February 2008

hello dave, hope you and gloria are ok and enjoying yourselfs. as i promised i would keep you informed of all the gossip here. havnt got anything at the mo sorry as soon as i do you will be the first to know xx

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb