The music has started up again. I'm on the move.


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Central » Cape Coast
July 19th 2005
Published: July 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

I left Hans Cottage at 9 am. I am headed to Sammo Guest house. It is very close to town and about half as expensive, the beds are half as comfortable too!

There is rooftop restaurant here with good meals, which are also half as much. It’s a decent place but nothing to brag about. I have a ceiling fan and which makes everything good. I've seen a lot of Europeans here. I guess this is the place that all travelers stay. Its cheap, clean and close to the city.

I will not move anywhere else. I've paid for my entire stay up front to get the 10% discount. It cost me $113 or $6.64 per night. Not bad! I like it. I'm one floor below the rooftop restaurant and that makes getting my morning coffee as easy as it will get.

Jennifer, the girl that cooks on the rooftop, is the daughter of the owner and we had an interesting conversation today. During her attempt to find out about me we realized that we have some of the same acquaintances.

As most people know I have been to Ghana before. I came with my undergrad advisor and some of his grad students to conduct archaeological investigations at numerous sites on the coast. I became familiar with this guesthouse because we had brought different people to lodge here while they were in Cape Coast. As we talked and I told her that this was not my first time here and she asked what I had done the other times. I told her that I had done some archaeological excavations the other two times. During their fieldwork my friends Sam and Ed must have spent some time here. Jennifer asked me “do you know Edward, do you know Sam?” I said yes. It is pretty neat that I have run into somebody that knows some of my friends from Syracuse. She told me that Ed had just come to see her about a month ago and that she thinks that he is still around. I’ve not been able to find him and the director, that I met last time I was here, no has been transferred to the Accra so I do not think I have any way of finding him. She said that she would ask around for me.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb