The VSO Christmas do/Goodbye to some of our volunteers programme


Advertisement
Gambia's flag
Africa » Gambia » Upper River » Basse Santa Su
December 13th 2011
Published: December 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

On Friday night we had the official VSO Christmas do/Goodbye to a few of our VSO friends party down in Kombos. The time has finally come to say a fond farewell to Duncan and Sam (sniff sniff!). I was given the mission to buy Christmas decorations on Friday morning. I was amazed to walk into Emporium (the posh shop or ‘Harrod’s’ as we call it because it might as well be here) to find it looking like House of Fraser with trees and decorations and even David Bowie singing Little Drummer Boy on the stereo. I had to stop myself from getting very carried away. It’s really strange to think of it being Christmas time here. On Saturday we were lazing by one of the hotel pools to a sound track of cheesy Christmas songs over the sound system - very bizarre.It’s too hot for Christmas!

The party was at Fransico’s bar where we had a Christmas meal of pie and mash followed by Dairy Milk ice creams from the shop across the road – a Christmas treat indeed. The night ended in a blur of Julbrew (Gambia’s very own beer), rum, some dangerous shots of tequila (who’s stupid idea was that!), some very silly dancing and ended with chocolate croissants from the bakery just before dawn – always a sign of a good night out.

I’m back in Basse now and it feels very strange that Duncan and Sam won’t be coming back anymore. I’m not sure I like it at all in fact! It’s a good job I’ve got my Mam and Dad coming to visit on Friday. Lilli is still back in the UK after suffering from a bout of illness but will hopefully be back soon to keep me company. Hurry up and get well soon Lilli!!!

In the meantime we have a new little friend on the compound, a little puppy called Lucky (although I’m trying to convince them to call him Duncan!). The dogs here break my heart. There are so many strays with no one to look after them and I’m not convinced the ones with owners get treated that well. It makes our Stan look like he lives like a king in our house, although I think we all knew the anyway. I think this one might become my new best friend and I’ll be making sure he’s well looked after.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1159s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb