American Money and Spanish Lessons (in africa?)


Advertisement
Gambia's flag
Africa » Gambia » District of Banjul » Banjul
April 2nd 2009
Published: April 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

PUBLIC SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT!!!!
1. BUY ISHMAEL RIGHT NOW. if it's sitting on a bookshelf somewhere because you've already read it, lend it to a friend. it's one of those books that the entire human race needs to read.
2. the address you should send school supplies to is my address at home in the states. if you know it, awesome. if you know my mother, ask her. if you don't know either, send me a message and i'll send it to you. i'm gonna collect them all at home and send them all at once once i get home.
3. if you want to send me things here (ie books, candy (both of which i would love)), send it to

Kate MacDougall
ABC Learning Center
P.O. Box 1754
Banjul, The Gambia

in other news. it hasn't been the most exciting week in the world. more stressful than anything. on saturday i hung out at home. it's good to rest after these long weeks. sunday i spent a lot of time on the internet getting stuff done. college housing (because it didn't go through the first time) and researching classes. i found a costume technologies class that i'm gonna try to get into.
monday i worked with grade one. they are so loud and don't like to listen and all over the place. they took their art exam and i took it to. el boy drew a picture on the board and they all had to draw the picture too. it was hard! too hard for grade 1. but they had fun with it. as soon as class was over i went to the internet cafe to register for college classes. except the registration for freshman starts may 30. it's march 30 for everyone who's already there. go kate. then i had grade 8 french and chilled with jarry until we went home.
tuesday i was at abc 2 with grade 5. mr jawo had me teach integrated studies (which is all about the gambia). too bad i know nothing about the gambia! so we did populations and capitals of countries in west africa and such. during the break i went to the internet cafe and typed up some of my thousands of papers that were due yesterday. then i was with grade 6 for studies. i showed them american money and told them how much it was all worth. then they asked me questions about america. when we ran out of stuff to talk about, i taught them spanish. they had fun with it, and two kids were super serious and taking notes. i ran the class by myself because mr jallow had to take over grade 5. yay!
wednesday i was with grade 2. they came up one by one and read stories to me and i marked them "excellent, good, fair, poor." most of the kids did better than last time. then i went to the internet cafe and typed more homework. after break i came back to teach grade 7. they were better this time. we did math, and then mr gaye came in. instead of english, we had a debate: "which gender is more important?" it was hilarious. mr gaye was the only guy against all the girls in the class and me. i came home from school and went to the internet cafe to finish my work and send it in. too bad the POWER WAS OUT!
so today i woke up and went to ABC 2 to work with grade 3. they were doing exam corrections, so i taught mrs. umweni more spanish. then i translated harry potter. for pe they did jump-rope and made me do it too. it was embarrassing.

aunty bin went grocery shopping this week and bought me more peanut butter! that's what i live off of here. i'm so excited they have it.

also-if anyone's interested in what i learned about during my california retreats, buy Conscious Living by Gay Hendricks. it's a really good book. it's another one of those life-changing ones. it pretty much sums up everything we've learned at Maacama.

love you all!
Kate

ps. you guys are slacking on the comments. keep in mind that you guys are my few connections to the outside world. so please comment more.

Advertisement



2nd April 2009

Kate-you are channeling Bubby right now. If you REALLY want to channel her, you will buy copies of this book and give it to all of your friends and family!
3rd April 2009

SPRING!
SOOOO today it was SIXTY SEVEN! spring is FINALLY here! Round TWO of letters from Camp went out a couple days ago so of course there is more fb creepin' then ever! haha. i can't wait till camp starts. UH not much is happening in the states thats like "BIG NEWS"... the usual. *sighs* recession. BUT ANYWAYS i'm reading your blogs like crazy now (i just read three in a row because i lost track of time since you last wrote) and i just love hearing about it Kate! I can't wait to see the clothes & ALL those pictures YOU HAVE TO TAKE. okay well that's what i can report, sorry its nothing too, too exciting. ♥ em
3rd April 2009

Hi
I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don't know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often. Sarah http://www.craigslistpostingonline.info
3rd April 2009

dancing you
doob. it is I...UD! i am caught up now. I love that you and I are both teaching now! I am transported by your blogging. I also started taking African Dance last week and thought of you. At one point I was in such a FRENZY that one of the drummers got off his perch and came right over to me banging on his drum right in my face. Loved it! Please buy me some kind of shirt or shorts. PLEEZE! Love you. ud
15th April 2009

Hey kate, its Erin i'm at university of dayton and enjoying your journals from africa! i wish i could do that but i do'nt think i have what it takes. i'm almost done with school for the year. I still need to find a job. Ohio likes to have random weather so today it is cold yesterday it was warm. gotta love ohio. the recession kind of sucks a lot because people can't get jobs and that is justnot good and well basically its a big FAILURE to the world. thats about it

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb