A Taste of Tella


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Oromia Region » Robe
May 26th 2007
Published: May 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I was invited to Mengesha’s house for my first taste of “tella” the local beer. Ever since the Robe CTE Tour, we had talked about the fact that I had not had an opportunity to try it. Today was the day!

I was, unusually for a Saturday, at work. The last session of the Higher Diploma was held on Thursday, and as the Moderators from Dilla were due to visit on Tuesday (and Monday was a holiday to celebrate the "Downfall of the Derg”) I wanted to go through the Candidates’ portfolios to see what they were missing. Gizaaw telephoned to tell me that he would collect me from my house at 5 o’clock (11am) to take me to Mengesha’s because we had "a programme".

On the way, we stopped at Kaasaahun Shimles Restaurant for shiro wat (a kind of bean puree with a boiled egg) on injera, before continuing to the house.

Tella has an unusual taste, but very quickly grew on me. It is made from barley, is very cloudy and almost has a smoky taste. According to the guys, it is about 6% and costs around 1 birr for a litre - bargain! I was told that it is not sold in shops, but at houses with an upturned tin outside. As well as Mengesha, Gizaaw and Kassahun, his wife and Abel (his 2-½ year old son) were there along with 2 other people (friends or brothers of Mengesha?).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0793s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb