Travels between Robe and Addis Ababa (2)


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Oromia Region » Robe
May 5th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

A week after my triumphant bus journey, I was again on the road, returning to Addis after a week of illness. VSO and Tesfaye decided that I should go for medical tests after 2 clinics in Robe found nothing wrong, and the hospital in Goba couldn’t deal with me as it was a Sunday. Tesfaye was going to Adama for a workshop that afternoon, so again I got a lift in the College car. Tesfaye, Guta, Darajee and Mengesha insisted on sharing the back seat so that I could travel in comfort in the front. VSO were also excellent and arranged for Dereje to collect me from Adama the following morning.

A week in Addis later - a week with Nadia and David looking out for me and feeding me - still no diagnosis, but I felt well enough to return to work. This time I did not buy a ticket in advance, but had been told that it was OK to simply turn up. I wasn’t looking forward to that 11½ hour journey, but at least I knew the bus was OK. Wrong! Back to the usual type of bus with no head rests, just a metal handle across the top of the seats.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0915s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb