Harar Travels


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Harari Region » Harar
December 20th 2010
Published: December 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

I got up at 4 in the morning to take bus to Harar. By the time I got there it was 8 in the morning and it was time for breakfast. I bought a muffin and some strong Ethiopian coffee, seeing that I woke up so early. Next, I took a minibus to the Jamia Mosque. It was built in the 1500s. It has very detailed and beautiful minarets. Then I took another minibus to the Feres Magala square. It has many beautiful mosques and shrines

Lunch time...I walked to the market and went to a little store that I can best describe as a cafe. I bought a goat and onion kebab with some goat's milk cheese on the side. It was delicious! After I ate, I decided to look around the market. There were lots of beautiful hand crafts, wooden sculptures, yarn, scarves, knives, you name it! It was exelent!

I ate dinner from a street vendor. It was a meat and cheese pie. Then I decided to go to the Medhane Alem cathedral. It is very beautiful, and when I prayed there, I felt like god heard me. I walked back around the streets and looked for a place to stay. I found the Tourist Hotel. I got a room and stayed there overnight.

Now, I am back in America. It is so good to be back.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb