Found something that i absolutely enjoy


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Addis Ababa Region » Addis Ababa
March 18th 2010
Published: March 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well first off this is officially my first blog and i am officially a blogger, the excitement is killing me. I have been wanting to share my experience with the world, okay maybe not the world but the rest of the travel bloggers. I have been in Ethiopia for 2 months now and the blogging thing came to my mind after two months (i know a lil' pathetic), i just kind of woke up one morning and said, i need to blog my experience. First off a little background is that i am in Ethiopia to do an internship, initially i wanted to do an internship for 6 months in the country that me and my family call home. The last time i was in Ethiopia, i basically couldn't last 2 weeks, because i missed Texas so much. Now, i wanted to approach things with a new perspective and appreciation, i figured i am now 22, responsible, mature, and very much a college graduate, therefore i will find the positive in everything.
I had my 6 months internship planned out my sophmore year in college and my junior year, i really started to consider the intership idea fully. I really considered it to the point that i convinced my close friends to do that same, the plan was to graduate a semester early and head out. Finally, my friend bailed and i went through with the plan, but there was something else that came into my life or should i say someone else? I met the love of my life, we started dating in the begininng of 2009 and like many of my realtionship i didn't think it would last. Turns out we lasted a whole year and though it sounds like total cliche, we were meant to be. Telling him that i was going to be gone for 6 months was very hard, but he was very understanding, not to mention supportive. Enough about my personal life, i tend to blab on for days about things.
The first day i got here, i drove to get lunch, the funniest part was not me driving, it was the fact that i have driven stick shift automoblie only once before that. I figured i was hungry and the car was parked at the house, i might as well make use of it, but i had to lie and tell everyone else that i practiced enough when i was back in Texas. Traffic is the worst part of it all, especially in the city (Addis), it is almost like they never learned to use their rareview mirror. People NEVER drive in their lanes and the taxi drivers are maniacs.
I have to say i am pretty lucky, because i have relatives here and my father resides here though he travels a lot. A couple of weeks after i arrived, i started doing my internship. Business ethics in Ethiopia is completely different from America. When i went to get my driver's license, i had to go to 5 different offices and wait for at least 2 hours at each place.
The work hours are very differnt from what i am used to, work starts at 8AM but doesn't begin until 9AM, lunch is at 12PM and lasts till 2PM, and the working day ends at 5PM. Though it takes a long process to get one thing done, businesses tend to get things done. Also, if people don't respect appointments, it is normal to show up 30 minutes to an hour late. People are dressed formally, especially the men, the women tend to be more casually dressed in a work environment.
A couple of weeks into my stay, i got into a car wreck, car wrecks are approached way different. First of all, everyone wants to play eye witness even those who haven't seen anything. People were hovering over me and they made me so nervous, i finally called my father to help me and we had to go to the police station and bring the officer to view the accident, then after he sketched out the accident, we had to take him back to the station in our car and he told us the verdict. Turns out the other driver was at fault, but the process was long. I was convinced that i was bad luck prone or something, because i also developed skin problems and everything was just not going as planned.
I finally cut my trip short and made it 3 months long, i am really starting to get used to things here and i am going to be leaving for another trip to the countryside next week. I can't even wait, i don't know much about the history and i would love to know more, what perfect place to visit to know more about the history of Ethiopia than Lalibela, Axum, and Gondar. I will be blogging about my trip, but for now i am going to end my first blog at this.

CoFfEe BeAnS!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb