A year later and a lifetime ago


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Addis Ababa Region » Addis Ababa
February 9th 2009
Published: June 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Here it is, one year later after the harrowing car accident that Lauren and I endured on the way back from Weliso on Feb 9, 2008. I can't believe its actually been a full year since we ended up in that ditch. And yet almost on a daily basis I either think about the accident or my body reminds me that it is still on the mend.
I'm not sure how many times I've retold the story of that eventful day and yet if I had to do it all over ago I would. Yes that's right I would. I believe that things happen for a reason. That there aren't any "coincidences" in life.
I'm grateful for many things from that experience; from the people we encountered along the way that day to Lake Weliso, our driver and his fast thinking so that the little boy who ran out in front of our van wasn't hurt, for the Drs, nurses, and nuns at the hospital who did all they could for us while Lauren and I were there, for having travel insurance, for Dr Hamlin from the Fistula Hospital, Bethel, Annette and her family and everyone that cared for us while in Addis. I'm grateful for everyone that was praying for both of us back in the US and for my family and friends that took care of me when I returned. Most recently I'm grateful for Bikram yoga and how it has healed my back from the inside out. This practice (and that's what it is, yoga practice, not yoga perfection) has not only made me stronger physically it has also started to bring a mind/body balance to my life. Its amazing what a little focus on breathing can do to help quiet one's mind.

Last week, Herb, one of the director's of the yoga studio, spoke at the beginning of our class about how our minds are a pond and when the pond is calm you can see your reflection in the pond. However when you allow the multitudes of thoughts to intrude on a daily basis into your mind its like little pebbles being thrown into the pond. After a while there's so much turbulence on the pond that you can no longer see your reflection and you've lost the connection

Advertisement



Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb