Final Count Down


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Addis Ababa Region » Addis Ababa
August 13th 2008
Published: August 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well,

Less than a week and I'll be back in the states.

The last week has been amazing.

On Saturday we went on a type of safari trip. We saw a lot of animals but no wild lions only one in a cage. However I did get within twenty feet of a herd of monkeys on an edge of a cliff. Which was great until it stumbled not over the edge but I scared the monkeys that then scared me even more. I try to get some pictures of them up next time.

This was my last week at the orphanage. It was great until the last day which is to be expected.

In the afternoon of one day one my students, Frew, came up and asked if he could show me his home. He was so excited to show us. We walked half a mile way from the orphanage down a hill, off any paved paths, into what seemed to be a jungle. It was amazing how quick the scenery changed. Along the path were little metal shacks hidden amidst the growth. It was amazing that he wanted to show us so much because he had a severe limp and the trek was not easy for him though he didn’t want any help. All at once we came to an opening over looking a valley and a beautiful river that was rushing over rocks. Across the river there was a green forest with no one but a shepherd and a few donkeys. Frew turned to us asked us if it was “chongjo,” beautiful? He led us on to his house which was a small two bedroom building that had six bed for the eight boys living there with a kitchen table and little other furniture. Frew had us sit down and brought us some food. (When I get a chance I will give a long description of the Ethiopian food because it is needed.) He also brought a bowl and a pitcher of water so that he could wash our hands as we sat. We asked to help but he would have none of it. He got plates, cups, and told us to eat, eat. It was really a blessing as he fed us and talked with as best he could in his broken English. Again he was so excited to have Dee (American) and I as guest. Later I was informed that as a male he actually broke many social rules to feed and serves us as only the women usually do what he had done. It was fantastic and beautiful.



I actually avoided telling the kids that Thursday was going to be my last day.

It was interesting last Thursday another group of white people were at the orphanage when we returned from lunch. After talking with one of the long time workers I found out that the group was taking a 12 day tour of poverty amongst the orphanages in the city. They would spend one or two days at each orphanage and then move on to the next. One thing I never really thought about before was how the children felt about us. The worker explained that this happens every so often and that the children hate the experience. Another group of white people come play with them for a day, hold their hands, take with pictures with them and then leave. They feel as though they are an attraction at the circus.

I say all this to give greater emphasis on the last day and what happened. During the week I was trying to reconcile how my trip was any different than the other. Was I just providing the kids with hope that someone cared only to take it away once more. On the last day I started telling the kids/friends I had made that it would be my last day. Many of them wouldn’t believe me at first. Over and over I heard, “Yosias, you come tomorrow, right?” I taught my class as I would regularly but at the end I told them I had bad news and one last assignment. Putting my address on the chalk board I told them it was my last day. Most them gave me a strange and confused look when I finished. One raised her hand and said that they didn’t understand. So I had to have my Ethiopian teammate translate to them. I stood there as I saw the realization hit them. Their faces changed from curious to almost upset. All thirty of them turned to me and began asking me in English and Amharic why and why I was leaving and when I was coming back.

After we had a short lunch we came back to play one final afternoon with them. Throughout chancing and games of volleyball I told many of the children. All had he same response as the others. Later in the afternoon all the kids were together and they put on a program to recognize us. Hannah the orphanage owner gave us certificate and then multiple children stood up and spoke. They spoke how much they loved and appreciated us coming. How they were amazed that we were humble enough to play and learn their games.

When the short program was over we gave out the Hershey bars and the tostie roll suckers that mom sent. Thanks Mom, they loved and took forever to eat the chocolate.

The last part of the day was what really impacted me. As we took pictures with the kids we got so many hugs and thank yous. One girl waited tried to walk up to me two times with something in her hand. When she finally got the courage she came up and gave me a small piece of paper with her address on it. She told me to write her. As the kids continually fought for our attention I started to realize that I had indeed made an impact and even on kids I didn’t think I had. A boy hugged me, told me how much he loved me and kissed me on the neck. My roommate told me that this was the highest level of affection you can show to a person.

It then hit me how much this children, our friends, loved us. They loved us more than many of the people go to class with and our are friends.

I will write more on the final days but I have to go now. I will also put some pictures up some time.

I will be back soon. Thanks again to everyone’s support. I look forward to sharing more stories because they are in abundance.

Josiah

(as always forgive my grammatical errors this was written in a hurry.)


Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb