Kind people make my day...


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Addis Ababa Region » Addis Ababa
May 30th 2008
Published: June 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today was the day that I was dreading. I had a flight from Cairo to Addis Ababa, where I had to overnight until my flight to Dar Es Salaam...darn layovers. I knew from the beginning that was going to be a long and painful day.
Then I find out that my flight from Cairo was delayed two and a half hours. So instead of getting to Ethiopia at 8pm I would be arriving around 11pm. I was already worried about what I would do for the night and this made things slightly more complicated...
I asked the attendant who was checking me in if there was a chance for an upgrade to business class today (it is always worth a try!). Unfortunately there wasn't but he gave me a pass that let me wait in the business waiting room where I got free drinks and snacks...I love FREE! While waiting in the comfy business chairs, a 60 year old ish man started talking to me. He was from Saudi Arabia and owned hotels and other businesses all around the world. He was quite nice, and asked me if I knew what his prayer beads were, and told me about them...not that different from the Catholic rosary, but muslims carry them at all times. He said that he had an extra set which was made from red coral and asked me if I wanted to have them as a souvenir of the Middle East. He would not allow me to refuse, and told me they would make a nice bracelet, which they do. We chatted a little more, and then it was time for me to go catch my flight. He said that he had some extra Egyptian money left over and he would like it if I would go and choose something from the souvenir shop to help him get rid of it. I refused, but he was so kind and I could tell he was just a rich old man trying to make someone happy so I thought: "What the heck, it isn't everyday a stranger wants to buy you a present" and I accepted. We went to the shop and I started looking around, but it was very awkward, but he kept saying "anything you like, whatever you like". I saw this beautiful Egyptian style dress (long sleeves- good for covering up) and he saw me look at it, and got the man to take it down and paid for it before I could even check the price he had paid for it. It was 200 Egyptian pounds or $40, and he gave it to me , shoke my hand and said: "have a safe trip, it was nice to meet you". He was so nice, he really made my day. I felt bad because I didn't even tell him the real story about my travels, and he probably would have enjoyed hearing it, but I am just cautious so I made up a story about meeting my husband, and not travelling too long... I will never forget the present from a stranger, it was very kind.
When I arrived in Addis Ababa, it was about 11:30 when I got to the transit desk. Everyone in front of me, from the same flight were being ushered onto a bus to a hotel, and told that they would be picked up in the morning for the connecting flight. When I got to the desk they told me that I would have to pay $50 US! They couldn't tell me why, but I said no. There was no point, by the time I got to the hotel I basically would have to come back. So I stayed at the airport, which didn't turn out to be too bad because I slept in the "female prayer room," which is the nice thing about being in a muslim country.
My flight to Dar Es Salaam is also delayed, but I'm used to that by now...

Advertisement



2nd June 2008

Nice people
It's a shame that you have to be so guarded when there actually are such nice people out there. I can't wait to see your Egyptian dress!
3rd June 2008

Lucky Lucky Girl
Every time I read your stories I'm amazed of how lucky you are!! Keep enjoying your time and be safe!

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0971s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb