Time to think


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Sinai » Dahab
June 4th 2010
Published: June 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It's already two in the morning and I should be sleeping. The heaviness has begun to overcome my eyelids. I set out this evening with the intention to update you on everything that I have felt these last few days...and alas...I have managed to wait until now. My evening began with Aaron by dropping off our laundry, and then trying out a new restaurant. An uninviting narrow room with tables, chairs and dirty mirrors on either side called the curiosity from within both Aaron and I (One of the reasons we get along so well). We approached cautiously and noticed the very reasonable pricing with no single item costing more than 2.5 LE (0.45 USD). After our first order of 2 falafel sandwiches, the chef ran across the street to pick up some tomatoes! We each had a couple falafel sandwiches (By far the best I've had in Dahab) and I chose a fried egg pita...our total for six sandwiches and two happy tummys was 10.5 LE (just under $2 USD). Woah. And I feel great.

I hope to have time to tell you about everything I have done; Hiking along the red sea to ras abu galum, Smoking with the bedouin on the beach, Snorkeling the vast reef, Meeting a 3.5-foot long pufferfish (all black with large white spots), Eating fish on the beach with Aaron and 5 Egyptians, Biting into mangos (I'm going to get more tomorrow), Flipping through hoops underwater, Breathing underwater, Enjoying the true material luxury of my accomodations, Relaxing while traveling (a new concept for me), Meeting local Egyptians and learning from their stories, Relating to them, Becoming closer with Aaron, Exploring the minds of others

Lying on a wooden lounge chair, listening only to the waves and other natural sounds, I wrote these words in my personal journal. Enjoy.

Here i am i sit on this beach
i hear the beat beats
of the waves they lap
again and again
an inch further
an inch closer to Hashem
stretching across
wind rippling along
moving to the rhythm
Nature's beautiful song

Itchiness scratching
i said leave it alone
building pressure
underneath your skin

Aaron --> Who are you, my friend?
We have both just arrived. I feel confident, you seem confused. Both wanting individual travel experiences, here we are. Who are you and where did we come from? Ha I said we; meant to write you...but this works conveniently. Who am I and where did we come from? We. Yes, unity. Who are we? More precisely, what are we?

Back to travel, back to life
adventures must be sought
day in to day out
find life through others
find life through yourself

Palm trees to hiltons
bedouin to druglords
reef to rock
simplicitly nature to electrical wonderland

Inspired to write
poetic lines of thought
words arrange beautifully
gives meaning life

This is the life. I feel a sense of loss for the original dahabian bedouin. I hope I experienced their very detached lifestyle at Abu Galum. What a place. Although they are not, by any means, sustainable, there remains something special about their heritage. We are descended from Sinai, from Egypt. We must maintain some of this connection.
Harvesting your natural resources...fish. Not oil, not even money. Trade with local goods. Trade with your personal skills. Trade with your mind. But do not trade your mind. Trade with your time and your love. Your love is the greatest power with which to barter with. Take caution and choose wisely. The most powerful, but as equally as fragile. Keep truth, honesty, and compassion always at heart and hand, always ready to expose and share, always happy to love. Watch its effects and grow from the gift. Inter human appreciation meets intrahuman spiritual stimulation.

Each word written each
word thought
Each meaning unique
and plentiful
Each movement extending
the soul
Each soul seeking
eternal warmth

Advertisement



5th June 2010

Wow! That was beautiful
Hi Josh, I just figured out how to get to read your blog. I am not too computer savvey and I have never been able to do this before. Your words moved me so much. I had no idea you were a poet... and a great one at that. Shabbat Shalom, Danielle
5th June 2010

that poem
that poem is absolutely beautiful.
5th June 2010

wowowow
What have you been smoking? Incredible sentiments and thoughts -- huge in scope. Hang onto their concepts and revisit them. and 3.5 foot puffer fish? I probably would have fainted!
6th June 2010

i'm glad to hear that u r having fun
and u r reaching inside... just don't come back as a tree hugging Hippie, ok?
8th June 2010

What were you smoking?

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb