The long journey cross the sinai


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Sinai » Dahab
March 12th 2006
Published: March 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Road to DahabThe Road to DahabThe Road to Dahab

This was taken along the road from Sharm el Sheik to Dahab.
Today has been quite the trek! I got up early and Moustafa, my driver, picked me up at about 6:30am to take me downtown to the bus station where I caught my bus to Sharm El Sheik, on the southern tip of the Sinai.
It was an interesting 6 hour journey on basically a greyhound bus. It was an interesting trek over to the Suez canal, which I didn't get to see but went under in a tunnel! Then we drove down to Sharm. The landscape was like nothing I have ever seen before, red mountains, arid desert, and blue waters of the gulf of Suez. It was very beautiful. I got to Sharm and haggled a taxi driver to take me the rest of the way to Dahab. (about an hour away) What an adventure.
Now I am in the little sea side town of Dahab on the eastern side of the sinai. Its a great place, very remote and worth the trip, though getting here I was really beginning to wonder where Chris had recommended I go!
The town is very small, only about a block or two wide in most places. The "main drag" is
Police Checkpoint entering DahabPolice Checkpoint entering DahabPolice Checkpoint entering Dahab

I realized after I took this picture, it was probably illegal because it was a police check point. But I thought the mosaic welcoming you into town was beautiful!
a pedestrian walkway with shops on one side and restaurants that back onto the water on the other. These restaurants aren't like ones you would find in the states, they are just seating areas overlooking the water and the kitchens are located in the buildings along with the shops. There are many bedouin type restaurants where you sit on pillows and blankets on the floor. I chose one of these as my first meal in Dahab, and it was wonderful! Its so relaxing, just to listen to soft music, the waves and look over to Saudi Arabia just on the other side of the gulf!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

My first restaurant in DahabMy first restaurant in Dahab
My first restaurant in Dahab

Where I ate my first meal in Dahab
The gulf of Aqaba and Saudi ArabiaThe gulf of Aqaba and Saudi Arabia
The gulf of Aqaba and Saudi Arabia

Sunset on the Gulf of Aqaba


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb