Giza and Cairo


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Giza
October 4th 2009
Published: October 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I had a very busy 2 additional days in Cairo. My first roommate to show up was American that had been doing peace core in western Africa for the last 2 years. I ended up going out my second day in Cairo with her and her uncle.

Our first stop was the citadel, which happened to be my first mosque that I visited as well. The view was very impressive, sort of. Cairo is very polluted and it is very tuff to see anything too far away. We toured through the first mosque and then went to a lookout spot, which was where I saw the pyramids for the first time. Again they were very hard to see through all the pollution.
Once we were finished with the citadel we decided to go and see the Coptic quarter where the hanging church is at, which is believed to be the old Babylon. I mostly found this interesting to see how different religions worship and present themselves in public. I did see a guy wearing a Branch Seahawk jersey which I took a picture of.

In the evening we met the rest of our group, and tour leaders. The next day my tour began with Oasis.

The tour went to the Egyptian Museum again which was fun to be there with a non perverted tour leader. I was able to see the full museum at this point the most interesting exhibit that I saw this time was a statue of the guy the largest pyramid was built for. The only remaining statue of the guy is a statue that stands about 2 inches high. I had a good chuckle over this.

We then went to the pyramids. WOW. The pyramids are located right on the outside of the Giza, which is just an extension of Cairo. I was so impressed by the size of all three of them. We went to this lookout that we were able to take a picture of all three and then from there I went on my first camel ride. After I was comfortable I asked if I could detach from the chain, and the guy let me take the lead on my own. I felt so free and excited to be leading my own ride, little did I know that I was only going to be on my own for about 15 feet.

From there I went into the second largest pyramid. It was cheaper to get into, and I was told all three pyramids were exactly the same. To get inside I had to walk down this tunnel that I had to hunch over and sort of caveman style. Once at the bottom of the first tunnel I then had to walk up another tunnel in the exact same style. At the end of this tunnel I entered the chamber. It was very hot and smelly and just a room made out of stone. At least, I can say that I have been inside the pyramids.

After the pyramids I went and saw the sphinx. I was a little shocked because right across the parking lot for the sphinx was a Pizza Hut and KFC. The sphinx was not as big as I thought it was going to be but was still pretty cool.

That was the last stop in Cairo. From here we took an overnight train from Cairo to Aswan. This was the most horrible trip of my life. I got so sick from something in Egypt. I spent the whole time in the bathroom throwing up into the most disgusting toilet of my life! I was then sick the entire time that we were in Aswan and never even left my hotel room, until the last evening that we were there, and that was only because we were going to go to a Nubian house for dinner. Which was nice experience as well.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Singing KidSinging Kid
Singing Kid

We were floating up the Nile to go to the Nubian dinner and this kid just came up beside us singing looking for treats.


30th October 2009

What's so sacred about a sphinx?
I'm horrified to hear about the Pizza Hut and KFC across the road from the sphinx! Is nothing sacred?!? I do, however, love photos 9 and 10 of you with toe on pyramid and caressing the sphinx. Nothing is sacred, I guess. Heh.

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0609s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb