Kigali to Bujumbura and back to Kigali


Advertisement
Burundi's flag
Africa » Burundi » West » Bujumbura
April 28th 2009
Published: April 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well today Jess and i left at about half 5 to the bus statuion, you would think at 6 in the morning it will be quite down at the bus station but no. As soon as we got there some random guy came over and asked if we were going to burundi I said yes so he grabs my bag and walks off I follow him while Jess is shouting for me, I didnt want to lose sight of him as he had my bag containing money,passports and my camera!
anyway I soon got my bag back and foubnd oput he was trying to seel us another ticket!
We eventually got on the right bus and we left at 6:30am. I felt so sick but at least we werent on one of those packed buses. It took about 4 hours to reach the border crossing which was my first, and there were no problems and no bribes, they all seemed to be pleased that I was from south africa,they called me a white African.
From the border crossing it was another 3hours or so to Bujumbura the capital of Burundi. As soon as we entered Burundi you could see that it is very poor compared to Rwanda, after all the country is just starting to recover from decades of violence.
We reached Buj round about 1 and luckily there was a hotel right across the road from where the bus dropped us off, it was a bit pricey but we shared a room to cut the cost.
Later that afternoon we decided to go to the craft market, on the way someone tried top pick pocket us which seems to be very common here! As soon we reached the market people were trying to pull us into there stall they obvisly havent had much business. Anyway the stuff on sale was really good and most of it from the congo but it was so espensive, Mzungu price!
Well I bought some small things and Jess got some masks from the congo we both felt that we were being ripped off, but the people selling the stuff became quite aggresive trying to sell us stuff. I was so shocked to see ivory for sale and leopard and serval skins as well as croc skins for sale! And apparently all from the congo!
After that experience we went to the supermarket and bought very little as it was so expensive, anyway after that we went back to the hotel.
On friday we went to Sagga beach on Lake Tanganyika, and had lunch there it was quite nice, after that we went on a local fishernmans boat on the lake. Then back into Buj.
On Saturday I got the bus back to Kigali and Jess got the bus to Kigoma in Tanzania, I felt so sick on the bus I even got sick out the window which scared off the little kids shouting Mzungu. On the way back I realised I had forgottwen that I needed a visa for Uganda which cost s $50 and I didnt have enough! So over the next couple of days we tried to sort western union out (thank you)and I finally got money on the Tuesaday and the I was off to Uganda.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb