Chicken Scratch


Advertisement
Burkina Faso's flag
Africa » Burkina Faso
July 4th 2006
Published: July 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Farmer Brownie!Farmer Brownie!Farmer Brownie!

Learning to plant with traditional tools in traditional village. Yikes.
Heya everyone
Sorry there's been a lull in the writing. I've had no end of trouble getting these pics loaded, but here they are, finally!

So last week I got a panicked phone call from one of our geos saying that there were issues with one of the villages that needed to be rectified immediately. So this meant an emergency trip into town, then out to the village for negotiations, then back to the bush. This made for LOTS of road travel which I find quite exhausting, but it was worth it. The negotiations went well and the village leaders decided to present me with a gift for my trouble; a rooster! Yup, no joke. It's one of those situations too where it's SO rude to refuse, so you're pretty much stuck with the bird. While we were waiting for them to bring it out (the joke among the geos was that they were having trouble catching it!) there was a lady planting in her fields near us. I used my broken language skills to say hello, how's your day, and stuff like that. Then she decided she wanted to show me what she was doing. Then she decides she
Tandem PlantingTandem PlantingTandem Planting

Planting with a local lady farmer. She's showing me how it's done!
wants ME to give it a whirl, so I figure, why not! So I get in there and start planting. The geos are killing themselves laughing at this point, make no mistake. Anyway, lady comes by with a spare set of tools and we start planting together. It was cool, and I made sure to wear my company hat to make the most of the photo op. They should seriously pay me extra for this stuff! Anyway, we had a good laugh about it, then I got my chicken and drove back to site. I left the chicken with the cook there for the guys while I went back to the city. I'm sure I couldn't have left it with a more welcome group of recipients cuz they don't eat chicken there much.

So that is my amazing story. Pretty crazy how life here gets sometimes!

In other news, I've finally nailed my indicisive ass to a plan for my August vacation. I'm going to take a week long tour of the Ghanaian coast with the girl intern. She has 2 weeks off, so she's going to head up a week before me driving down by bus, then
Pair of FarmersPair of FarmersPair of Farmers

Two farmgirls: one local, one import!
we'll meet in Accra and tour the coast together. According to Lonely Planet, Ghana is the safest place in West Africa for a woman to travel alone, and everyone I've spoken to says it's really safe. So Ma, don't worry! The coast is supposed to be really beautiful with great beaches and a canopy walk through the rainforest too. I'm really looking forward to it! After that I'm heading down to another region of Ghana with work to see my very first operating mine! Very cool. I'm going to meet their social/environmental team and discuss mines from the social perspective. It's neat because that's the end result that we're hoping for with our company (a working mine), so seeing our exploration properties reach that phase will be pretty exciting.

In other news...

Scottish ladies: good luck at the Indians Tourney this weekend! A few rules of thumb:

-if you're going to get drunk and cry, don't do it in the middle of a field in the dark
-knock before entering tents lest ye be unpleasantly surprised!
-forfeiting the semi-finals because the team is too hungover is only acceptable when your team no longer has a coach
-co-ed
My RoosterMy RoosterMy Rooster

There he is, my live rooster. Notice how I am holding the man's hand and not touching the bird whatsoever...
naked rugby is not classy, no matter WHAT the mens team tells you

Anyway, everyone have a great weekend and I look forward to hearing the stories to follow. Don't do anything I wouldn't do! 😊

xoxo
-Brownie


Advertisement



7th July 2006

you have a lovely cock!
Really I mean it, quite the specimen! ok ok so maybe i just wanted to say cock! great stories and I can't wait to hear more...keep um comin'. Oh and as for naked rugby.....it's so classy...everyone should try it! ok ok once again me just being a perve, it's really not classy...but it is humerous! Take care Hans/Frans, miss you love you, xoxo,H/F.
8th July 2006

Brownie, I'm loving your stories! Good job planting!! I can't wait to hear what vacation in Ghana is like. miss you :) Jordan
8th July 2006

Way to go on the Chicken Brownie!!! I wish someone would give me a chicken.... thats a neat gift. Glad to hear your going to tour around a bit. Remember that pictures are key. We are all living vicariously through you haha. I'm really looking forward to the Indians tournament and am taking your advice to heart. Although I defenitely knew I was not doing naked rugby.... but now when I'm completely smashed your warning will prevent me from doing anything stupid. Well they will stop me from taking my clothes off hahah. Miss you as always. xxoo
8th July 2006

i am not the team alcoholic
Hmmm. Memories from last year. We'll be missing you tomorrow "farmer" Brownie. Can't wait to see if this year's tournament produces the next duchess. Take care. Wish I got paid in chickens. : )

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb