In the Field...


Advertisement
Burkina Faso's flag
Africa » Burkina Faso
May 28th 2006
Published: May 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Heya everyone,
I made it to the field very painfully this morning after a very late night. The party was a huge success and everyone loved the Sangria I made. I ended up tending to a very sick driller until the wee hours of the morning, but I also made a few new friends which is always good news.

So the morning came early today and we headed out to the field to a region called Seguenega. I am touring 3 villages over the next 3 days in order to get a feel for what kind of projects need to be done here, and to give the local people a chance to communicate with us. We visited the first village this morning and it was a huge success. We are heading back out after lunch to finish the meetings we have there (I am accompanied by our head geo on this property). So far, we met with the village men, then the village women, then the teachers who work at the local school. This afternoon we are going to check out the clinic (it does not have lights so they cannot treat people after dark) and speak with a lady from the Peace Corps who is there right now. I have tons of pics from today and the party but the connection is really slow (dial up!) so I will wait until I am back in the office. I wont write much either because I find this French keyboard really frustrating!!!! But there is really a lot to say... including the horror of the living conditions in camp... at least there is toilet paper! Anyway, the pics will tell all.

So, until Wednesday morning when I am back in town. 😊 Adios!

-Brownie

Advertisement



28th May 2006

I knew you could do it!
Yay Hans and Frans, i knew you could do it! I'm so glad to hear that the party was a big hit...and you were worried! So looks like that "short notice" of ONLY two days didn't really hinder your success!!! Can't wait to see all the pics and read your next blog. Lots of Love, xoxo, H/F.
29th May 2006

Congratulations on the successful party!! I look forward to seeing pictures of that, and of the scary camp conditions (eek)! Btw, did you get all caught up on Grey's Anatomy yet? I can help with that for sure... although it might make me cry again. hehe.

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0941s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb