Woot!


Advertisement
Burkina Faso's flag
Africa » Burkina Faso » Centre » Ouagadougou
August 24th 2006
Published: August 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ghana summitGhana summitGhana summit

This is the spot in Ghana where Chantal and I decided we were going to build a house and live. It's so beautiful! It's on the top of a big hill, so I thought I would use it as symbolic of me standing at the top of Kilimanjaro!
Heya everyone
Well, that song last time must have done it cuz the SCOTTISH LADIES WERE TRIUMPHANT!!!! 😊 In a score of (what sources tell me) 22-17, they defeated the very sneaky Ottawa Irish to become Russell League Champs. I look forward to the match report! Well done ladies!!!!!!

In other news (although not nearly as exciting) things in Ouagadougou are going fine. Been training hard for my climb up Kilimanjaro in 2 weeks!!!! Actually, 3 weeks exactly from today I will be standing at the summit of the highest walkable mountain in the world, and the hightest mountain in Africa. The training has been tough, and I've been barely able to move for a few days do to an over-zealous workout on Monday. I decided it would be a good idea to workout the climbing muscles by doing some squats, sumo squats, and multi-directional lunges WITH my full pack on... Needless to say, I am sore. Although the workout is great, it results in immobility for the next 4 days! But, as a friend pointed out to me, I'll be glad I did it when I'm up on the mountain and having trouble putting one foot in front of the other. I'm also memorizing all the words to O Flower of Scotland so when things get tough I'll have something to keep me going. They'll wonder why the crazy Canadian is chanting a Scottish folk song! But as Suz said in her comment on the last blog about helping push you over the try line (thanks for that Suz, btw), knowing my team and my friends and family are rooting for me will help me make it to the top. "O Flower of Scotland...."

Well, not much else going on, just busy with work and getting ready to head off to the bush for a few days and then on holiday. This climb is going to be my biggest adventure yet!

Much love to all of you back home. Thinking of you lots and missing you all terribly. Looking forward to seeing you at Christmas; only 4 months to go! 😊

xoxox
-Brownie

Advertisement



25th August 2006

Don't forget a few O Canada's in both official languages as you're hiking ;-)

Tot: 0.236s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 68; dbt: 0.2013s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb