GPS baby!


Advertisement
Burkina Faso's flag
Africa » Burkina Faso » Centre » Ouagadougou
June 9th 2006
Published: June 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Heya everyone
I hope you're all doing super. I'm doing well these days. Sorry, I've been remiss in updating you as regularly as I used to. I'm not being lazy, I swear!

Just about to head up to the field for quick visit (seriously, I'm outta there as soon as possible). Leaving tomorrow at 6am again... arg... This is actually not so bad, though, because I have been getting up at 5:45 to go running in the mornings with some mining guys here. Before you all get your hopes up, NO they are neither young nor cute. Bummer. But they're REALLY fit and running with them is kicking my butt. I was sorta cocky at first that I'd have no trouble with a couple of 40-somethings, but these guys run 7k, three times a week, and they're freaking FAST. Anyway, training with them is pretty much the most killer workout ever, so I'm sure to come home crazy fit. One of them got malaria this week, so I've been running with a different partner who is somewhat slower. It's good, though, because I don't finish feeling like I'm going to pass out, so I do some yoga after. When there's nothing to do but work, working out is a good alternative!

Tonight I'm excited because we've been invited next door for a bbq with our partner company. We actually don't socialize with them that much so this is great. I was so excited that I went out to the store today and bought groceries and made a pasta salad to bring over. Normally they wouldn't expect us to bring anything, but it seemed so neighbourly and an excuse to be domestic! This is seriously the first time I've made anything more complicated than cereal since I've been here, so it was actually kind of fun to cook a bit. I think that's the solution to my dislike of cooking: do it only once every month or so. Then it's enjoyable!

The last exciting news of the day involves me aquiring a new skill: using a GPS. Since I work with geologists all day, there is a lot of cool equipment floating around our office. I'm not sure how many GPS units we own, but I know it's a lot. Anyway, I need to check out some water points in the villages I'm visiting tomorrow, so to locate them I've programmed the coordinates into a GPS. Then we just get in the car, and drive! I'm very pleased to know how to use this device. I was telling Balchin already, it makes me feel so resourceful. Maybe I should get one for my next hiking trip... ?

Anyway, that's all for now I believe. Thank you all so much for your comments, I really appreciate them. Keep the e-mails rollin' and I hope to hear from you all soon. Special props out to my Scottish ladies who are playing their first season game against the Irish tomorrow afternoon at Twin Elm Rugby Park. GO SCOTS! I'll be wearing my team hat and shirt and sending out good vibes all day long. I know you'll make me proud. 😊

-Brownie

Advertisement



9th June 2006

House wife
Oh Brownie, you are such a nice neighbour. Cookin and all, you'll make a great house wife yet!! hahah just kidding, i'm sure ur jaw dropped on that comment! anywho, u wanna get me one of those GPS systems so i can be a better navigator and don't get us almost killed in friggin renfrew....Stupid Glennis going a buck 10- buck 20! take care. xoxo H/F
9th June 2006

GPS does not equal maps
Hey Brownie - just remember that because you have the coords in the GPS, doesn't mean that you solely follow the GPS, beacuse if there is a river/cliff in the straight line direction you are kind of buggered. Always make sure you have a map too!
11th June 2006

proud of you
Hey Nerr, I'm so proud of you and all that you are accomplishing. Your sure are elbow deep in it, and doing well. Keep up the runs and the yoga, I'm sure it will help centre you and keep you going. Nice vacation plans too! Be safe and be strong. love you, see you at christmas then I suppose! Katie-Cow
13th June 2006

You set the stage
Brownie, you set the stage for fitness well done luv see you soon stay safe. stue
14th June 2006

Brownie the domestice, way to go! Hey maybe you could teach me a thing or two about GPS its getting pretty big on the farm here.... Be sure to give those mining guys a run for there money. Keep fit and stay healthy, very important!! Miss ya

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb