Interns to the Rescue!!!


Advertisement
Burkina Faso's flag
Africa » Burkina Faso » Centre » Ouagadougou
May 21st 2006
Published: May 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Heya everybody!
Sorry about the mega-depressing post last time. I think things here were just starting to get to me...

Turns out I had a fantastic night, though!!! FINALLY SOME FUN!!!!

Yesterday as we were pulling out of the guest house to go back to work after lunch, I thought I caught a glimpse of one of the interns I met last time over at the other company. So after work, I had a beer with my housemate here, then thought I would go over and see what was up next door. My housemate was not interested in coming along, so it was just me. Anyway, as I'm walking over (uninvited) I get a yell from the roof: "Lindsey!". Sure enough the interns were back from the field for a couple of days and looking to party. The timing could not have been better.

So, to make a long story short, I partied with Alex and Chantal (the two interns from U of Laval) and Sabastien (a French guy, friend of Chantal's) until the wee hours of the morning in downtown Ouagadougou and fell into bed happy and hammered. 😊 Let me tell you, the hangover today was TOTALLY WORTH IT. Soaking up a bit of African nightlife does a body good!

Chantal was thrilled to hear that there would be another girl up at the site soon. I'm heading up there in June for maybe as long as a month (!), and it will be great to have some buddies to hang out with. I'm not going to want to come back to town! Well, maybe... Bush living is hard living... Anyway, both the interns are super nice and really social and have travelled a lot so we have tons in common and tons to talk about. Both are Francophones, so they're looking for a chance to practice their English a bit. They both said that I speak really well in French which is always nice to hear. 😊

Anyway, that's the word. I've finally managed to find some friends here and have a good time. YAY!!!! Things are looking up. They head back to the field in a couple of days, so we'll probably hang out a lot before they go back. I'm not sure what tonight holds but it's sure to be good with them around!

-Brownie


Advertisement



22nd May 2006

It's great to hear that you've found some social company just in time. :D
22nd May 2006

Brownie! I'm so glad your meeting new people and having a good time. Not to worry my friend I'm sure you'll find kindred spirits even way far away in Africa. Glad your keeping in touch. - Ash
23rd May 2006

Kindred spirits
Hey Hans/frans, so i was reading ashley's post and she mentioned kindred spirits, which I happen to be reading Anne of Green Gablesfor my children's literature class. This obvioulsy made me think of the part in the novel that Anne goes away to Queen's academy to continue her studies and her busom friend, Dianna, stays in Avonlea. So i begin to compare us to the two friends, you being Anne and me of course being Diana. Diana is worried that her friend will make all sorts of new friends and forget about her, but Anne assures her that this is not the case and they stay lifelong friends. the point that I am trying to get at is not that I am afraid that I will lose you as a busom buddy but that I am actually applying something school related into my everyday life...aren't you so proud of me!!!I feel so edumecated! come on, you honestly didn't think i was seriously worried...I'm super glad to hear that you are meeting so many wonderful new ppl! Sincerely, your Bosum Buddy Hans/Frans!

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.033s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb