PICTURES FINALLY!


Advertisement
Burkina Faso's flag
Africa » Burkina Faso » Centre » Ouagadougou
May 11th 2006
Published: May 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Courtyard and StreetCourtyard and StreetCourtyard and Street

View from the suite of a bit of the yard and the street beyond.
Hello everyone
Lots of change going on these days. It looks like I'm not keeping the giant suite in the guest house (too bad!) since one of the geos is moving out next week and his room has a complete ensuite bathroom with a SHOWER. So on Tuesday I'm making the move. I also changed offices this morning. I had just sort of set up a workstation in reception until today, but they put me at a proper desk in the accounting department. Since I work alone, it doesn't really matter where I sit, so it's not a big deal. I like the people in accounting, though. They're really nice, and one of the guys (a local that I met on my last trip) and I have a special handshake now that we do every morning.

All the moving and stuff came about yesterday when I had a meeting with our VP of exploration who is in charge of everything here. He pretty much wanted to know what I'm here for, what activities I have planned, and how much it's going to cost. So I'm spending the next few days making up a Gantt Chart (yay, PAPM 3000!) and a
Across the RoadAcross the RoadAcross the Road

View from the suite of a building across the road.
cost breakdown/budget that will detail my activities until the end of the year. It's actually pretty tough to think about what exactly you'll be doing a few months from now, and figuring out how much things cost here. I mean, how much DOES it cost to build a school in Africa anyway??? I will learn the answers to this question and more!

I'm trying to spend lots of time outside here. I notice most of the other expats drive everywhere instead of walking, and they stay cooped up in the guest house with the air conditioning after they leave the office (which is also air conditioned). It seems like such a waste to me to sit inside all day and all night when the weather is so amazing. I mean, you sweat your eyeballs out, but it's great! I sat outside yesterday on the veranda on this swing we have (it's decrepit and I am looking into having it replaced) and wrote in my journal with all the great plants around me and it was wonderful. I also had a lovely chat with our front door guard. I guess I should have mentioned that sooner, but all the houses
Geo and Me Geo and Me Geo and Me

This is J-F, one of our geos from France. He's the guy whose room I will take over when he leaves on Monday.
have walls around them and anyone with money has a "watchman" outside. We have several watchmen that rotate through the week, but I particularly like this one. I found out he has 5 children and the oldest is a boy who is 17. He has a lazy eye or some other problem because his eye is weird, and he's so charming and lovely that I just love to chat with him. I would say he looks in his 50s, but I've learned that guessing ages here is nearly impossible so he could be anywhere from 40 to 65.

I was very sad to read that the Senators are down in the series 3-0. Can someone get over there and shake them for me?

Ladies of the Scottish: I hope you're all doing fantastic and that practices are going well. I haven't forgotten about you, and I know tonight is a training night! I'm still doing my best to stay fit here, doing exercises every night before bed. I haven't found a suitable tree to drive against yet, but rest assured that when I do you'll get the photo somehow. 😊 Keep up the intensity at practice, and I
Madame Cook! Madame Cook! Madame Cook!

This is our housekeeper and cook. Her name is Madame something, but I can't quite catch the name! So I just smile at her a lot and call her Madame. :)
look forward to hearing about your first win in June!

Ok, so I think that's it. Thanks for dropping by. It means so much to me that so many of you are subcribers and read my blog daily! I've managed to get some pics posted so they should be coming more frequently now. Enjoy!

-Brownie



Advertisement



11th May 2006

great pics
Hey Hans/Frans, first off I'm really glad you finally got teh pics working, i love looking at them. Africa is so different, it's so exciting that you are there, I wish I was there with you...maybe if I make some money in the furture I'll visit or go back with you. who knows I'm not much of a planner...not like you anyways. I nearly had a heart attack when you said in your blog that it's hard ot think about what you'll be doing in a couple months or so....need i mention u are a giant nerd and you plan EVERYTHING, right down to the time, place and meal you will be eating five years from now!! ok a bit of an exageration but i think it gets the point across...you are planner crazy! this is so teh right job for you! also geta picture of the lazy eye man...i wanna see! does that make me a weird? anyways keep the reports and pictures coming and I will chat with you soon. Lots of Love xoxo.
11th May 2006

love the pics
yeah to the pictures, now i really believe that you are in Africa, and not in some random room somewhere pretending to be gone for a year! (j/k) Looks amazing, and i look forward to more pics. Glad to hear that things are going really well - and nice pick on the blue shirt - brings out your eyes, but i know you knew that!!!! xoxoxo
11th May 2006

News travels fast.
it is cool that even people in the land of upright men know about the Senator's problems. We are down 3-0, but there is still a lot of excitement, and cars driving around with Sens flags. People will be on pins and needles until the game tonight.
11th May 2006

STOP PICKING UP THE HIRED HELP!!!
Hey Linds, get a good tan while you're there, eh? how's the food? I think you should keep a pet lizard and name him larry. Love ya Kim
12th May 2006

What do you mean you don't know what you'll be doing a month from now? YOu are the most organized person I know. I'll really miss you this weekend.

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb