Duuuuuuuuuuumeeeeeelaaaaaaaaaa RRRRRRRRRRRA!


Advertisement
Botswana's flag
Africa » Botswana » South-East » Gaborone
June 25th 2008
Published: June 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey all. 😊 It's been a few days and I don't blog or journal nearly enough as I should, but I'm tryin'!!! There's so much to tell and I honestly don't think I have that much time to type.

So, again, lots has been going on. First- started my volunteer work at SAPSSI (Salvation Army PsychoSocial Service Initiative) and it's been really great. I enjoy interacting with the people and visiting schools and kids...first- the "office" is basically in the GHETTO...and I'm not kidding. It's the "projects" of Gaborone...but I'm not scared. 😉 I work there during the day. On our first day, our boss said, "OH yeah- this place can be dangerous...but no guns. You might get knived or stabbed, but you definately won't get shot." LMAO. WHAT?!?!?!?! At any rate, that funniness aside, I did take some time to walk around the neighborhood with Thabang (Ta-bong), a guy who works at the SAPSSI. The streets are dirt/sand and there's trash everywhere. But as we were talking politics, down the dust alley walks two little girls...maybe the ages of 1.5 -3 years old...seriously. So, they look at me like, "Who the heck is this white person?!" and I knelt down and said, "Dumela bo mmahhh..." (hello ladies)...and the older one hesitantly walked towards me then reached her arms out. I picked her up and spoke what little setswana I knew and she smiled. I could tell she was trying to figure it all out. When I put her down, she went and got the younger one and pushed her towards me. lol. SO CUTE!!!! Can't help but hug on them...and what were they doing wandering around in an alley anyway, right?

Yesterday we went to a beer/cafe called "Kwhest" for a poetry reading/open mic thing. It was amazing. My coworkers came out with the lot of us and we had a great time. The social scene here, tho kind of random, can be pretty posh depending on where you go/what you do. Trust me, there are a fair share of shanty bars that put any hick-bar to shame...but there are plenty of great ones.

Ok, must go now. Again, out with the coworkers and then off to watch the soccer game. 😊

With Love,
Sarah

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb