Karibu Safari


Advertisement
Botswana's flag
Africa » Botswana » North-West » Maun
November 18th 2015
Published: November 27th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I met a fella who had a simple moniker to remember his name. He pointed to his toe and then to his knee. Tony. And his surname was the most famous person from his home country of South Africa. Not Mandela, but his first name-Nelson. Now that I could easily remember Tony Nelson, quick went the beers and fast were the stories. A real fun guy to hang around he was the operations director for a safari company called Karibu Safaris which had recently seen the seasonal shift in tourists coming to the delta and more specifically Moremi which is a national park or something. Out of nowhere and what I thought was maybe a non-sober overpromise he offered to take me to his bush camp to see how it all worked. Fo free! I jumped at the chance because I was looking for something to do that day anyways and holy cow going on another safari but this time gratis!?!? Yes please! The only stipulation was that I had to call him before 8 and he would come pick me up no problem. In the back of my mind I felt that was his one out he was hoping I would miss, but I know how to be a rockstar and I was all packed ready to go by 7:30am. The only problem was that the reception lady wasn’t there yet (supposed to be there at 7) and I didn’t have a local sim card to make the call. Luckily there was an old German lady willing to let me make a call on her Taiwanese phone. I could hear in Tony’s voice him trying to recall what was promised the night before, but he eventually did and picked me up an hour later to head into the bush! Wow this guy was friendly and very accommodating. And the location was amazing too! He kept saying this place was a basic camp sight, nothing luxurious, and just a stop off before heading towards Kasane on the real safari. I stood gape jawed at the awesomeness that was this lagoon-side palace. There were 8 tents on decks with a shower, toilet, and basin all attached, a dining deck for 20, and a huge lounge deck with ample shade to view hippos and elephants as well as to write this blog. I really enjoyed my relaxing time at this camp and probably one of the best spots I have had the pleasure of sitting down to reflect on the awesomeness that is Africa. Loving life J


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb