Key West!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Keys » Key West
May 5th 2009
Published: May 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I had to get a very early bus this morning, 0650hrs! A tour bus collected me from my hotel and took me on a tour to the Key West, which was about 3 hours drive south. As lucky as I continuously seem to be on this holiday, I managed to get the front seat behind the driver, therefore having a really good view enabling me to get lots of great photos.

The Key West is very picturesque, with the blue ocean either side of you, it is certainly heaven. Everyone seems to be very laid back; there is no need to rush for anything. I took a 3hr boat ride and went snorkelling. The boat rode for an hour out in to the ocean, where it then anchored up whilst everyone went snorkelling in the coral reef. It was a bit nerve-racking to start off with; after all, I was in the middle of the ocean with no land in sight!!! But I soon got used to it and oh, what a site!!!! Being so close to the exotic fish and corals was amazing!!! We were told that shark and sword fish live in that area, but luckily we did not see any. When we got back on to the boat, the captain provided us with free wine and beer and would not let us have an empty glass, even made sure we had a glass to take away. As you could imagine, I was quite tidily by the time I got back to the tour bus! Before we left the Keys, we were taken to the most southern point of Florida, just 90 miles from Cuba.

Whilst on the boat, I made really good friends with a couple who live in Miami, Cher and Joseph. They said I was great fun and are eager to keep in touch with me, consequently, we exchanged emails and I am looking forward to hearing from them. I got back to the hotel just after 2100hrs and was so tired that I fell straight asleep, but I did have a GREAT DAY!!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb