The Beginning of the End


Advertisement
Europe
June 27th 2007
Published: June 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

City Of LondonCity Of LondonCity Of London

Nice Coat.

Yep, Back in London



Looks like I have made it back to England in one piece from Frankfurt and I have one more day until I return to Sydney. Time flies eh?

Following on from my last blog I had one more day in Rome on Friday last week and I ended up going into the Colosseum on a tour which ended up being quite informative - I'm glad I did it. I also visited the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and lots of other places all by foot. It was a long day! I had to check out of the hotel at 11am and had up to 5pm before I needed to start making my way to the airport for my flight to Frankfurt (Hahn airport).

Oh did I mention I got sunburnt every day I was in Rome? I had sunburn ontop of sunburn! but thankfully my 'Rudolph' nose and forehead have now started returning to it's natural colour.

Fortunately I made friends with a guy called Bruce from New Zealand who was also staying at my hotel and we ended up roaming around Rome (punny!) as he was stuck there due to delayed trains to
The WeddingThe WeddingThe Wedding

Pene, Rachelle & Me at the wedding....
Venice. It was good to actually have some company. Poor guy had had a very disastrous trip around Europe - his bus that he was on was in an accident about 2 weeks ago in Belgium I think it was, and many people were injured (including some people sustaining severed limbs et al.) he wasn't injured though so he was very lucky.

So anyways we parted ways later after a long day in the sun touring around, and after collecting my bag from the hotel (which 'broke' on my way to the train station) I headed to Ciampino airport. Sadly all my toiletries were chucked out there as I had them in my carry on luggage - dumb I know but they let me do it in France! and I caught the plane at 10pm. Long flight! plus I had all these idiot German teenage boys surrounding me and they were harassing the stewards and everyone on board. E.g. continually pressing the call/ help button for the stewards assistance when they didn't need it. Cause you know - that's like....toooootally funny.

Thankfully the flight was over pretty quickly and I caught the bus from the Airport (with the
Go Aussies at the Wedding!Go Aussies at the Wedding!Go Aussies at the Wedding!

Pene & myself - this was early in the evening
same idiots on board) to Frankfurt.

I had a good time in Frankfurt catching up with some old friends and I unfortunately didn't take that many photos of the place (not a lot there to be honest) but I did some shopping (surprise!) and I had to buy a new suitcase. But it was nice to relax after being on my feet all week.

Anyways so come Monday, I caught the Ryan air flight back from Hahn airport which is about a 2 hour bus ride from Frankfurt. Surprisingly the bus ride is longer than the flight from there to London. But anyways, I landed in Stansted aiport which is also outside of london (caught a train to Liverpool St station) and here I am now a day before I fly back to Australia. I caught up with some friends last night to say adieu! and today is going to be a fun packing day.

I've just added some assorted pics to this blog as I haven't been able to put them all on and thought you might want something different.

It's been a good trip - the wedding was great, I revisted London after 5
Me and that Damn Eiffel!Me and that Damn Eiffel!Me and that Damn Eiffel!

That is a look of naivity....beware Paul stay away from it!!!
years and caught up with lots of people I haven't seen in a while and I also did some monster shopping. Lol. Plus Europe was great, I'm glad I revisited those cities as last time was a very rushed experience and I had an awful flu which put me in a very foul mood for the majority of it so I didn't get to really 'soak up' the experience.

But I have to admit - I'm SOOOOOOooooo ready to come home. Travelling is fun but I like my routines......I'm such a loser! anyways - so I hope you've all enjoyed reading my blogs, I've had fun writing them and taking the oodles of photos (I have 400 on my camera!) BUT imma coming back! It will be great to see everyone again.....and I'm looking forward to the rain - BRING IT ON!

So I hope you are all well - and not having a stressful week (Cambridge!) and I hope to catch up with everyone soon!

Take care and I'll be seeing ya!!

Paul.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Not that far from Home?Not that far from Home?
Not that far from Home?

This is in the viewing gallery of the Eiffel tower which has all the different cities around the world and their distance from the Eiffel Tower...Sydney is only 16,962km's
Me & Da LouvreMe & Da Louvre
Me & Da Louvre

Shame it was closed....
Louis XIVLouis XIV
Louis XIV

On the grounds of the Louvre
Watering Hole.....Watering Hole.....
Watering Hole.....

La Poser at the Trevi
The PantheonThe Pantheon
The Pantheon

Pretty big aye?
The Pantheon HoleThe Pantheon Hole
The Pantheon Hole

I should be a photographer!!!
FrankenfurterstrasseFrankenfurterstrasse
Frankenfurterstrasse

This is me and German friend Jenni at a street fair on Sunday evening in Frankfurt....you can look but you can't touch!
Cambridge FolkCambridge Folk
Cambridge Folk

Myself and former Cambridger Michael in London.
Trash PalaceTrash Palace
Trash Palace

This is me and Sydney friend Kristen at a bar called 'Trash Palace' in London. No comments!


28th June 2007

FAR OUT
Bloody gee's we miss the hell out of you!! Haha brad only just showed us how to reply to your blogs.... All this time we thought we could not talk to you!! Far out, hope you are having the best time and can't wait to see ya babe, Hey can you like steel the eiffel tower for me and bring it back, then you would be the best and i would love you 4ever!! Hurry up and come home so we can get trashy!! Love ya lots xx Hurry hurry!!
2nd July 2007

Yeah bra
I second Sarah and Chris's comments, get home so we can get trashy. Glad you had a good time babe. Missed you heaps, oops did I write that. Oh no, you have written evidence now. Hope your trip home is a safe one.

Tot: 0.345s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb