When In Rome....Sweat!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
June 21st 2007
Published: June 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Fontana Di TreviFontana Di TreviFontana Di Trevi

Tis pretty, pity about the crowds though

Buon giorno! I made it to Rome....Hooray!!...ergh but it is hot. Hot, hot and hot.



Let me recap the experience- I left Paris to go to Beauvais-Paris Airport which is about a 50 minute bus ride from Porte Maillot in Northern Paris, early Wednesday morning and endured more waiting in ques (sp?) in this oh-so-small little airport (with a large pack of tourists) for another couple of hours. If you haven't caught on yet - I am slightly impatient and LOATHE waiting. Or it could be that I am used to more efficient service.....you decide.

So I flew Ryanair which is a serious 'budget airline' in Europe (they take back the 'Free' inflight magazines) and it was a fairly cruisy 2 hour flight to Rome. I'm not sure if I trust planes a lot less than I used to as I get older (possibly due to those charming Regional flights back home) or what....but every time I'm in flight I have that distinct fear that the plane I'm on is going to crash....but they don't, so I suppose that is a relief. Yay for me. Anyways - On approach to the airport, the pilot advised that it was
ColosseoColosseoColosseo

Where's Maximus when you need him? 5 years ago I was huddled against this wall - hiding from torrential rain. Oh the memories!
going to be a pleasant day in Rome, reaching up to 34°. Which in Europe weather speak is about a nice 40° in Sydney.

Oh side note - the keyboards in Rome are much more efficient! even more reason for me to ramble on about my exciting touring....(gag!). Anyways....

I then caught another bus from Rome Ciampino airport to Stazione Termini (the main train station of Rome). I muddled about for about an hour at the station looking for the Metro and once I finally found it after some very useless help from about 10 different people I went to Via Cavour station and then dragged my huge suitcase up a very large hill to my hotel in the warm Italian heat. *note to self - must buy more efficient suitcases and travel lighter to avoid heatstroke and backpain!*

It's interesting watching Romans drive because they tend to drive in all different directions despite the lane markings and there is none of those silly pleasantries of driving that you may find in Australia. For example; 1) the bus driver from the airport decided to tailgate every small car he could and beeped at many different cars along
Foro RomanoForo RomanoForo Romano

Hmmmm....old and ruiny.
the way - adding a few break slams in for good measure to make the trip a little more 'exciting'. 2) Obviously a motorcyclist had had an accident and for some reason left his/her bike in the middle of a busy intersection. Cue everyone else driving around or over his/her bike to get through to the other side of the road and 3) Paedestrian crossings mean NOTHING.....try and cross the road at your own peril.

Fortunately the Colosseum is about a ten minute walk from my hotel so there aren't that many crossings along the way, and that is where my touring began after I was settled at the hotel. There was a barrage of tourists swarming around the place (mainly American families and Contiki's) and I took the obligatory pics. I was going to go in, but I didn't do it last time because of torrential rain and there were more ques....so why spoil my history with the Colosseo. I then went through the ruins of the Imperial Forum which used to be part of Old Rome which they have now built ontop of/ around. As the heat continued and the sweat started to build, I decided to
Spanish StepsSpanish StepsSpanish Steps

There's a macca's just up the top...hungry?
book it back to the hotel and do some much needed Laundry washing. I was at the end of my clean clothes cycle. Not sure why you need to know that but I thought it may be of some interest.

So that pretty much summed up my first day in Rome.....I think it ended up being a good 16-18 hour day so I ended up sleeping in today. Today has been more cruisy, after calling home (hi mum!) I went back down to the Colosseum and hopped on the Charta Roma (Official bus tour of Rome) and schlepped it around the city. I also stopped at the Trevi Fountain and went on the 'Time Elevator' which takes you on a ride (literally - with moving chairs et all) where you 'discover the amazing 2750 years history of Rome!'. And yes there were more American families on that one especially. The most priceless thing I heard one mother say to her brode after the ride was 'oh now I feel queasy'. Ummm... because of what love?

Anyways, I then went to the Spanish Steps and walked down them which leads me up to now - being in the internet
Castel Sant'AngeloCastel Sant'AngeloCastel Sant'Angelo

Nice castle.....
cafe near my hotel. I will probably see if I can secure some Alcohol at some point this evening. You would too don't lie! and although I won't be able to converse with anyone in Italian, no biggie. I will sleep better tonight methinx!

So I have one more day in Rome tomorrow - perhaps visiting some other important places and then I am off to Frankfurt to meet with an American friend I met in London who now lives there.

I have to admit, it is fun seeing these places but it can be a lil boring being by myself. Thankfully that will change by tomorrow evening.

Also thanks for all those people who have made comments on my blogs. I do read them (as I have to approve them first) and although I unfortunately haven't responded to many - it is much appreciated.....miss ya's all too!

Anyways, I will blog ya's very soon with some shenanigans from Deutschland. Take Care.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

More For'umMore For'um
More For'um

Blah blah blah....hehe


21st June 2007

Jealous!!!!!!!!!!!!
Sounds like you are having a ball!!! I am so jealous!!!! Love reading about your travels and love the photographs. Take care and enjoy. Mary
21st June 2007

Wow -The Good Blogs Keep Coming!
Hey babe, Again, great blogging!!!! The pics are fantastic you have made Liz and Alex very very jealous cos it always sounds so exciting!!! Alex says Hi!!!!! And she can't wait til you get back to your work....on the side...I think she is going nuts!!!! Our new starter started early this week but I don't know that she will last!!!! It's Amy's last day today and our new starter (another one) starts on Monday. Oh - and lots to update you on good ole Johnny when you come back but that will be Jason's Job. And we are still missing your quirkiness here!!! And I'm thinking Pritchard misses your fishing sessions so here's a toast to you coming back sooner than soon babe. Love you!!! Anna
22nd June 2007

Wow!
hey paul, hope you got my message fr: before! Looks like you're havin soooooo much fun and we miss you HEAPS!!!!!! Come back.... after you've done holidaying... lol! Next time you go, take me wit u!!!!! Keep the photos and blogs going hun! Love readin them all.. take care and happy shopping ;)

Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb