Same Island New "Home"


Advertisement
Published: March 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well moved into my new "home" on Utila last Sunday. Did not go quite as smooth as I wanted!
I ended up staying in La Pirata watching the Barcelona game and the Pompey highlights against Hull - play up pompey!
So did not leave until about half past five.

So by the time i got back to the station, packed and got a tik tuk taxi to Blue Bayou my landlady had gone out (said I would be there in the afternoon) so hung around on the porch until she came back. It had got dark and i had to usde my head torch while waiting in the hammock.


Funny thing is when she turned up, around 10, she got the keys and then turned on a porch light from outside! doh!

Diane has decking right up and over the sea which she said i can use, helps keep away from sandflies if there is no breeze.

Also a tower thing which nice to chill in for the views.

Think i said before there are kayaks to use and in next blog have some photos etc of a kayaking trip i went on with the station volunteers.


The house / bungalow is about 20 to 30 mins walk from main town centre with a few bars about 10 to 15 mins away.
About 10 mins of the walk has no lighting so carry a small torch around with me (Thanks Wyeth for the BPF torch.lol) however when enough moon you can see by moonlight.


You can get a taxi (tuk tuk) from anywhere to anywhere for 30 lims but they dont seem to be about late at night, although think pretty safe here more worriwed about getting run over by a bike lol.


Shame my first night and day in the new place was wet and windy, dont have cable (good! but have a flat screen telly and some dvds that Diane has left to watch if bored eg raining!


Had my first hot shower in 7 weeks! which was nice but not really missed it other than on cloudier days, mind you think my towel removes most of the dirt when having a cold shower!

Have been resisting the use of Air con as want to stay aclimatised! fan is enough if hot night and no wind / breeze.

Also been nice that i can cook when i want, no scrambling to use the kitchen with the other volunteers, although am expecting visits from them.

Can do some great snorkeling from the beach at the house, about 20m out there is a dive spot! Where the edge of the reef is, so you can see fish just a few metres out and have seen a Ray from the beach.


Need to take my waterproof camera out (thanks Dee) to take some underwater pictures for a future blog.


Have been trying to keep my ear dry as still playing up last week, but much better this week so have been in the water.
Think i must of perforated my ear drum, would explain the blood coming out my nose on dive 3 of Open Water.
Oh well have done before and it will heal up, ideally before my next set of flights!


Thanks again to any messages sent either facebook or mail through blog. cant reply to all or keep short as tend to have to write same stuff! But it is nice to hear from people to
Helen and me in La PirataHelen and me in La PirataHelen and me in La Pirata

Helen my new footy buddy!
keep contact and know what going on back at home.


Heard that Macha Pichu has been closed but it will reopen April 1st, good! as i will be there in May.

They have had lots of rain and mudslides in the area and had to close it as imporssible to get there due to roads and bridges being washed away!


Now i am away from the station I have been trying to practice my spanish more eg when only the spanish speaking bar lady in La Pirata or when meeting new people like my house caretaker. Am managing the basics though!


I suppose all my mates are starting to plan / look forward to this years IOW festival? or are you thinking of going to Glasto instead? Dont really fancy the IOW line up this year but whatever the line up is always great fun!


Terry not managed to come and fine me, he has started to latch onto others at the station which is good.
Still see him when i meet up with the station gang and he always gives me big hugs!

Also have a new doggy friend at house, is the caretakers dog Prinessa who also keeps jumping up at me for hugs too and wags her tail so hard her bum waggles!


This blog was going to be too long so am splitting into two, next one to come tomorrow with what been up to this eightth week in Utila, so you dont get too bored!

Enjoy the pictures.

larf


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

The towerThe tower
The tower

A "look out" tower


30th March 2010

Flash git!
Check you out with your posh pad! Looks good man. We in Quito now, we heard Machu Pichu open now by some swiss kid who just been. When you in Quito. We have another 6 days then moving north to volunteer. We may be able to get a job at this place for 6 months, unpaid but food and lodgings paid for. Anyway, sorry i missed the pompey - l´pool game with you, i would have enjoyed that! Stay safe and keep living the dream!! Laters
31st March 2010

THAT LOOKS MORE LIKE IT LARF, PARADISE OUTSIDE YA FRONT DOOR, NONE OF THAT WORKING RUBBISH. HOWS THE IBS BEEN

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb