This is a BEAVER... Not Justin Beiber.


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
June 23rd 2012
Published: June 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Drawings?Drawings?Drawings?

That's a fat beaver. And an awful tractor. Jaja.
June 21, 2012

Thursday morning... Once again, we missed our first morning class. Then the day just moved right along. I was with my favorite class today, Noe (Noah). They are in fifth grade and are so attentive and involved. It makes me so much more excited that I get to spend two hours a week with them! :D Anyways, so they were learning more vocabulary. Since the school doesn't have overhead projectors, SmartBoards, or anything like that, the only way they were going to see pictures of the new vocabulary was for me to draw examples on the board. The first question their teacher asked me was, "Can you draw?" I looked at her and said, "Nope. Not at all." (Maybe I should have tried harder in Intro to Art? Jajaja.) Oh well. Right away I told the kids that there was NO laughing allowed at my drawings. They still laughed. They didn't turn out TOO bad... Except the beaver... That was a really fat beaver. When they were finally finished copying my not-so-great drawings, they had to practice the pronunciation. Now, for those of you who know some Spanish, you know that they pronounce "b" and "v" the
Book club time!Book club time!Book club time!

Coffee, donut, and a book. Really nothing better.
same. Well, in English, we don't. The students struggled with this a lot... Especially the word "beaver." They kept saying "beiber," pronouncing it like Justin Beiber. I finally had to tell them that this (unfortunately for them) was not Justin BEIBER but an animal called a BEAVER. They got a kick out of that. 😊 Silly ninos.

After lunch it was time for classes at the language center. I had a break for the whole night, which was nice because I was able to collect and fix some documents for my teaching portfolio... Six down, a million to go! (My BLC profs would be proud. I'm not procrastinating!) In the middle of working on my documents, the building started shaking. Meredith said, "I think that was a tremor." I thought, "There's no way." Then Sr. Daniel came upstairs and asked if we felt it. And then it happened again, except stronger. I could actually feel the building shake! I can cross that off my bucket list. 😉

Then we went home for dinner. Sr. Daniel hired a new teacher for the language center, so he decided that he wanted a prize. 😊 jaja. So, after dinner, we went out for Dunkin' Donuts. I had a very strong cafe and a cinnamon roll. It was delicious. (And there was another tremor!) We also went to a book store where Sr. Daniel bought us all a book of poetry. (We had a one day "book club" meeting while we drank our coffee!) 😊 Then it was time for bed finally. 😊

Remember, it's a BEAVER, not Justin Beiber.

Monique

Advertisement



Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1144s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb